Underworld Releases New Album, Launched World Tour September 7th in San Francisco

Septmeber – 7 San Francisco, CA The Warfield
September – 8 San Francisco, CA The Warfield
September – 9 Los Angeles, CA Hollywood Bowl
September – 11 Denver, CO Red Rocks Amphitheatre
September – 14 New York, NY Central Park Summer Stage
September – 15 Boston, MA Bank of America Pavilion

On October 16th, Side One Recordings will release Underworld’s Oblivion with Bells, the duo’s first studio album since 2002’s A Hundred Days Off.

True to form, Underworld tread their own path through modern electronic music – nodding to current trends but exhibiting an élan unmistakably their own. On Oblivion with Bells, the Underworld palette is richer than ever: epic techno nestles next to frail acoustics, beatific prose next to sharp, urban observation, amazing sound texturing mix with mobile phone recordings.

“It takes just a few seconds of gauzy synths for the kick drum to enter, followed by a minimal bass groove,” said Pitchfork of “Crocodile,” the album’s first single. “…the track spreads out like an evening on 90s-style intoxicants.” For the accompanying video, Underworld once again tapped Simon Taylor. (Like Underworld’s Rick Smith and Karl Hyde, Taylor is a founding member of the creative studio collective Tomato.)

Underworld will launch an extensive world tour on September 7th in San Francisco, CA, marking their first U.S. show since 2003. Live, the pair blend aural and visual elements into an unforgettable experience that more resembles a journey than a concert. “Billowing chords, brooding melodies, thumping beats and vocals that crooned in one song and jabbed in another were all juxtaposed in Underworld’s two-and-a-half hour set,” said The New York Times. “Mr. Hyde worked up the fans like a gospel singer.”

It’s been five years between studio albums, but Smith and Hyde haven’t exactly been idle. They have collaborated on a slew of projects including Underworld’s 1992-2002 anthology album, two major film scores (Anthony Mingellas’ Breaking and Entering and Danny Boyles’ 2007 Sunshine), a self-published typographic journal (In The Belly of Saint Paul), a series of pioneering digital-only releases, internet-radio broadcasts and a groundbreaking live web-tv broadcast and gig in partnership with Appleand Frankfurt’s techno giants Cocoon. All the while crafting the songs for Oblivion with Bells and gigging relentlessly around the world.

While Oblivion with Bells is Underworld’s fifth studio release, it is the debut album from the new Side One Recordings imprint. Distributed through RED, Side One Recordings is an offshoot of Red Light Management in conjunction with ATO Records.

“This is a landmark work from one of the seminal acts of the past decade, and we are thrilled that it will
be the first release to carry the Side One Recordings imprint,” said Red Light Management/Side One Recordings’ Phil Costello.

The track listing for Oblivion with Bells is as follows:
1. Crocodile
2. Beautiful Burnout
3. Holding the Moth
4. To Heal
5. Ring Road
6. Glam Bucket
7. Boy, Boy, Boy
8. Cuddle Bunny vs. Celtic Villages
9. Faxed Invitation
10. Good Morning Cockerel
11. Best Mamgu Ever

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Author: James McQuiston

Ph.D. in Political Science, Kent State University. I have been the editor at NeuFutur / neufutur.com since I was 15. Looking for new staff members all the time; email me if you are interested. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *