Bigelf Releases “Hex” on 10/30

Psychedelic rockers Bigelf has set an October 30 North American release date for its cult, underground album Hex. Recorded in 2003, Hex will now be available domestically for the first time ever via the Custard label.

Flaunting a sound that interfuses all the best elements from the late 60’s / early 70’s rock movement, Bigelf create timeless songs that drip with surging guitar riffs, remarkable Hammond organ playing and some of the best vocal harmonies heard this side of Abbey Road. Often described as “a cross between Pink Floyd and Black Sabbath” and “The Evil Beatles”, Bigelf channels all of its influences and delivers music that shares an appeal with metal enthusiasts, classic hard rock fans and vintage prog-heads alike. Bigelf has firmly established its own identity through years of developing and modifying their own DNA into a powerful new kind of music in the tradition of the great rock acts from the past and is a cutting edge, musical experience unlike anything else out there today.

Originally released via the EastWest (Warner) label, Hex is Bigelf ‘s masterwork. Recorded using only vintage equipment, the album charted on the Scandinavian Top 10 upon its European-only 2003 release and saw shining critical acclaim for its diabolically-heavy pop rife with epic guitars, maniacal keyboards and rich, sophisticated harmonies laid over a foundation of hallucinatory hard rock. Among the album’s stand out moments is ”Rock & Roll Contract”, a superb pop song with an infectious hook and great lyrics that slam a fist down upon the corporate rock engine, “Falling Bombs” with its spectacular synth soloing and the dark, power chord-driven opener “Mad Hatter.”

On the Stateside release of Hex, Bigelf frontman / keyboardist Damon Fox explains, “Whenever I talk about “Hex” I like to quote the fans. An Elfhead in Brazil once told me, “Without bands like Bigelf there will be no future. Rock needs heart, strength and open minds. The masters of the past have shown us the way. It’s easy, we just need to be honest and do the right thing.” Wow, I couldn’t of said it better myself.” He continues, “People today want real music. They’re almost dying for it. We’re prepared to bring it and change people’s lives just like Pink Floyd and Led Zeppelin did 30 years ago. I’m serious.”

The final track listing for Hex is as follows:

1. Madhatter
2. Bats in the Belfry II
3. Pain Killers
4. Disappear
5. Rock & Roll Contract
6. Sunshine Suicide
7. Falling Bombs
8. Black Moth
9. Carry the Load
10. Burning Bridges
11. Bats in the Belfry I
12. $

Bigelf (Damon Fox – lead vocals, keyboards, Ace Mark – guitars, Duffy Snowhill – bass and drummer Froth) most recently teamed up with pop superstar Christina Aguilera to record a cover of the John Lennon classic “Mother” for the major benefit-album project “Instant Karma: The Amnesty International Campaign to Save Darfur”. The album features reinterpretations of the ex-Beatle’s entire post-band catalog and also featured contributions from The Flaming Lips, R.E.M., Black Eyed Peas, Aerosmith and U2.

Bigelf ‘s mesmerizing live performances — boasting theatrics reminiscent of rock shows from the 70’s — have seen praise from rock music luminaries such as former Nirvana / current Foo Fighters front man Dave Grohl and Black Crowes head-honcho, Chris Robinson. The band also attracted the attention of metal guru Serj Tankian of System Of A Down, who released Bigelf’s second record Money Machine through his label Serjical Strike Records.

Bigelf is currently recording a new album to be released in the spring of 2008 via Custard. An in-studio montage featuring images of the band recording new material can be viewed online at this location.

Bigelf is available to speak with interested media. To chat with the band / request a review copy of Hex, simply contact ACTION! PR via any of the means listed below. Updated Bigelf news will be made available via the Custard Records website:, the Bigelf online domains, / and the ACTION! website:

“Sometimes tagged as a stoner rock, doom metal or even prog rock, BIGELF are all and none of the above: a genre hoping, pill popping four-piece that gloriously refuse to acknowledge this ain’t 1973 and crank out epics like “Dark Side of the Moon” never existed. Riding the same train as Alice Cooper, Pink Floyd, Budgie, Hawkwind, Pretty Things and post-pop era Sweet, Bigelf play majestic, multi-layered, theatrical BIG rock and make no bones about it.” –

“With a band name that can only be described as ‘Dio-esque’, Bigelf is the best-kept rock’n’roll secret in LA. The Bigelf ‘sound’ involves great washings of C3 and Mellotron organs bleating away like acid-gospel in some perverse cathedral of doom, crunching 70s superfried guitars, and the glory-stomping vox of top-hatted, excellently named frontman Damon Fox. More importantly, the band have an impeccably sense of harmony and a flair for majestic pop songwriting. They’re sorta like an evil Beatles, really. Or a biker Queen.” – CLASSIC ROCK

“Bigelf are one of the best and probably the single most overlooked of the heavy psychedelic bands. Their songs are powerful, hard hitting and dynamic…yet Bigelf displays a melodic and extremely talented pop-song-writing ability more comparable to heavier Beatles songs. When I want to listen to something that just fucking rules I put on Bigelf. If your main tastes include bands like Monster Magnet, Baby Woodrose, Uriah Heep, Grand Funk Railroad, Black Sabbath and Budgie then Bigelf may just be your new favorite band!” –

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Author: James McQuiston

Ph.D. in Political Science, Kent State University. I have been the editor at NeuFutur / since I was 15. Looking for new staff members all the time; email me if you are interested. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *