Koop Tour in November; Swing U.S. into Frenzy

Atlantic recording group KOOP has announced details of their upcoming North American tour. The dates celebrate the recent release of “KOOP ISLANDS.” KOOP – aka Oscar Simonsson and Magnus Zingmark – will kick off their concert schedule on November 2nd at New York City’s Hiro Ballroom, with dates continuing through a November 10th show at Los Angeles’ Barker Block (see attached itinerary). When performing, Simonsson and Zingmark magically transform KOOP from a two-man studio project into a full-scale orchestra, complete with multiple singers and up to nine live instruments. KOOP themselves play piano/accordion (Simonsson) and sampler (Zingmark).KOOP is a true original, known for their groundbreaking sample-based amalgamation of jazz, dance, and electronica. “KOOP ISLANDS” sees Simonsson and Zingmark absorbing the influence of the classic Big Band sound of the Twenties, Thirties, and Forties to create an inimitable groove they call “SWINGTRONICA.” Joining KOOP on their remarkable musical journey are a number of guest vocalists including Hilde Louise Asbjornsen (featured vocalist for the U.S. tour as well as a featured recording artist and co-lyricist of “Strange Love” from “KOOP ISLANDS”), Yukimi Nagano, Mikael Sundin, and ex-Galliano frontman Rob Gallagher (all of whom appeared on “WALTZ FOR KOOP”), as well as the acclaimed Norwegian singer-songwriter Ane Brun.

Among the many highlights of “KOOP ISLANDS” is the syncopated “Come To Me,” featured earlier this year on an episode of ABC’s blockbuster Grey’s Anatomy. The track – included on the recently released “GREY’S ANATOMY ORIGINAL SOUNDTRACK 3” – was also used in a series of ABC promos from early April through the May sweeps. In addition, the tracks “Let’s Elope” and “Koop Island Blues” can be heard on FX’s Nip/Tuck and the trailer for the Pandemic Studios videogame, Saboteur, respectively.

Emerging from Stockholm’s inventive jazz scene in the late 1990s, KOOP drew immediate notoriety for their unique and passionate musical fusion. “WALTZ FOR KOOP,” the duo’s second album, established KOOP as true pioneers, unafraid to blend diverse styles into their own retro groove. The collection received reams of critical praise, with Muzik hailing it as “near-perfect.” “Stirring atmospheres are Koop’s true forte… beautifully arranged,” noted Q, while The Observer declared the album “highly infectious…a delight.” “(‘WALTZ FOR KOOP’) is something special and unprecedented,” raved The Independent, “a jazz-meets-electronic-dance-music album that actually sounds like jazz.”

In the four years since the initial release of “WALTZ FOR KOOP,” it has found its way into the hearts of more than 160,000 record buyers around the globe. A number of world tours followed (including appearances at such renowned festivals as Glastonbury, Montreux Jazz Festival, Pukkelpop, Umbria Jazz, and Roskilde), as well as hundreds of remixes for artists ranging from like-minded British duo Zero 7 to legendary Afro-Peruvian songstress Susana Baca to the one-and-only Yoko Ono.


North American Tour – November 2007


2 New York, NY Hiro Ballroom

3 Washington, DC 9:30 Club

5 Toronto, ONT The Mod Club Theatre

6 Chicago, IL The Double Door

8 San Francisco, CA Bimbo’s 365 Club

10 Los Angeles, CA Barker Block

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Author: James McQuiston

Ph.D. in Political Science, Kent State University. I have been the editor at NeuFutur / neufutur.com since I was 15. Looking for new staff members all the time; email me if you are interested. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *