MMP Set to Re-release Macabre Albums

Metal Mind Productions presents a re-release of the album “Sinister Slaughter” by Macabre. While metal music often tends to seek inspiration in the horror genre, Macabre goes a step further and transforms horror into music – the Chicago trio have developed their own unique musical style which they named murder metal. The name speaks for itself and Macabre make sure that each of their releases lives up to it. “Sinister Slaughter”, the band’s second full-length album to this day remains one of the bloodiest, gut wrenching records ever to emerge on the metal scene. Now, enriched by the thrilling EP “Behind the Wall of Sleep”, “Sinister Slaughter” returns to make your blood boil. Get ready for carnage!

This classic material from Nuclear Blast archives will be available in a new digipak edition, limited to numerated 2000 copies, digitally remastered using 24-Bit process on golden disc.

The release date is set on 11th February 2008 in Europe and 15th April 2008 in USA (via MVD).

“Sinister Slaughter / Behind The Walls Of Sleep” (remastered)

Label: Metal Mind Records
Cat. No.: MASS CD 1126 DG
Barcode: 5907785031784
Format: CD Digipak (limited edition of 2000 numerated copies)
Genre:  murder metal
Release date: 11.02.2008 Europe / 15.04.2008 USA



Sinister Slaughter

1. Nightstalker
2. The Ted Bundy Song
3. Sniper In The Sky
4. Montreal Massacre
5. Zodiak
6. What The Hell Did You Do?
7. The Boston Strangler
8. Mary Bell
9. Mary Bell Reprise
10. Killing Spree Postal Killer
11. Is It Soup Yet?
12. White Hen Decapitator
13. Howard Unrah What Have You Done Now?
14. Gacy’s Lot
15. There Was A Young Man Who Blew Up A Place
16. Vampire Of Düsseldorf
17. Shotgun Peterson
18. What’s That Smell
19. Edmond Kemper Had A Horrible Temper
20. What The Heck, Richard Speck
21. Albert Was Worse Than Any Fish In The Sea


Behind The Walls Of Sleep
22. Fishtales
23. Behind The Wall Of Sleep
24. Slaughter Thy Poser
25. Freeze Dried Man



Macabre was formed in Chicago, Illinois in 1985 by three friends who all took up pseudonyms suitable for their act: Corporate Death (guitar & vocals), Nefarious (bass & vocals) and Dennis the Menace (drums). Musically, the band presented a whole new quality of heavy crushing sounds, mixing together such genres as death metal, grindcore, math rock, thrash, punk, jazz fusion and black metal, adding to an already puzzling combination such elements like nursery rhymes and folk melodies! The result was so fresh and unusual, that the group decided to nickname it ‘murder metal’, making it easier for the fans to comprehend Macabre’s musical stylistics. But the music was not really all that made the band so unique. Listening to their debut EP release from 1987 “Grim Reality” one cannot help to notice the gory lyrics accompanying all of the songs; in fact, titles like “Albert Fish (Was Children Your Favorite Dish?)”, “Son of Sam” and “Ed Gein” made it pretty clear what themes were the band’s all-time favorite. Death, murder, serial killers and grim humor – this became Macabre’s trademark, carefully polished throughout the following years. After “Grim Reality” Macabre released “Shitlist”, first as a single (1988) and then as an EP (1989). By 1990 the band was ready to put out their first full-length album – “Gloom”. It took Macabre three years to finish working on the follow-up, which eventually became the group’s most unique offering. “Sinister Slaughter” saw the light of day on April 13th, 1993 under the flag of Nuclear Blast. Again it contained a handful (this time 21) tracks focusing on the world’s most vicious and brutal murderers (Ted Bundy, John Wayne Gacy, The Zodiac Killer, The Boston Strangler to name a few…), telling their stories with an ironic twist and tons of morbid humor. As far as music goes, “Sinister Slaughter” was a melting pot of various genres, with the dominant ones being death metal and grindcore. A handful of other elements were added to this thrilling mixture – this way the final result was extremely varied, even though all the songs were rather short (each around 1 – 2,5 minutes). The album was promoted with an excessive tour across Europe alongside Brutal Truth and Pungent Stench. In 1994 an EP “Behind the Wall of Sleep” was released, containing four songs: “Fishtales” (another reference to the infamous Albert Fish), “Slaughter Thy Poser” (originally written in 1985), “Freeze Dried Man” and the title track, which was a Black Sabbath cover. After that Macabre gone silent for the next five years, just to return in 1999 with another EP “Unibomber”, followed a year later by one of their most mature offerings – the concept album “Dahmer” devoted entirely to the life and deeds of vicious murderer and cannibal Jeffrey Dahmer. After these releases the band concentrated on their humorous, acoustic alter ego – Macabre Minstrels. In 2002 Macabre Minstrels released their first and so far only mini-album “Morbid Campfire Songs”. Surprisingly, even though the idea was extremely controversial, the album was soon sold out. Macabre returned in 2003 with another ‘regular’ full-length release entitled “Murder Metal”, as a reference to their unique style. Just like “Sinister Slaughter”, “Murder Metal” concentrated on different serial killers who carved their names into history, this time spanning whole centuries and including individuals such as Jack the Ripper, Werewolf of Bedburg, the Iceman and the Hillside Stranglers. The band’s current works involve a live DVD called “True Tales of Slaughter and Slaying” and recorded in 2006 in Holland. Macabre is definitely a unique band, showcasing a musical style unlike any other, spiced with a lot of gore and morbid humor. “Sinister Slaughter” remains one of the group’s finest releases, perfect for anyone who likes to bang his head to some prime heavy music and at the same time hear about heads being chopped off by psychotic killers. Be warned – Macabre is the ultimate gore frenzy!

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Author: James McQuiston

Ph.D. in Political Science, Kent State University. I have been the editor at NeuFutur / since I was 15. Looking for new staff members all the time; email me if you are interested. Thanks!

One thought on “MMP Set to Re-release Macabre Albums”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *