“Secret Love 4” To Be Released on Sonar Kollectiv

Many new talents in the field of folk and neo-folk such FINDLAY BROWN with Losing the Will to Survive or JAMIE WOON and his Wayfairing Stranger are here gathered to refresh our ears alongside with more experimented artists such as multi-instrumentalist and singer ANDREW BIRD with Imitosis taken from his critically acclaimed album Armchair Apocrypha or the 5-piece American neo-folk band MIDLAKE.

Their tune Roscoe (beyond the wizard sleeve’s mix) with its contemporary grooves taken from their critically acclaimed album called ‚The Trials of Van is its sound and construction a beautiful definition of what modern folk is all about. From CLARA HILL with About You to THIEF with down down over to A RACE OF ANGELS with Africa Displaced every artist give his personal meaning of the word Love. It is also interesting to see that ALEX DALLAS and JAZZANOVA experimented a bit more and chosen a few artists, who surprise us with a lesser known facet of their artistic personality.

 Minimal-techno producer KALABRESE will astound more than one fan with the tune Hide taken from his latest album Rumpelzirkus featuring Reggae-Soul singer GUILLERMO SOHRYA and his soulful and deep voice. Hip-hop DJ ZANE LOWE from New-Zealand, who reached the status of superstar with his own radio show on BBC 1 in UK, reveals his soul and folky side through his band BREAKS CO-OP and a beautiful piece called Duet. Sonar Kollektiv’s first lady of dub, electro and house EVA BE completes the picture with a sublime acoustic version of her ballad She walks alone present on her recent full-length album Moving Without Travelling on Sonar Kollektiv’ dub and ragga sub-label Best Seven.

The guest appearance of singer/songwriter legend PAUL WELLER is the cherry on the cake. ALEX DALLAS and JAZZANOVA decided to pay homage to his career by releasing the beautiful ballad The Loved, where his voice finds the perfect harmony between light acoustic guitar riffs and flute melodies for the happiest end you could possibly think of.


01 The Lawries – Sailboats 03:38
02 Midlake – Roscoe [Beyond The Wizard’s Sleeve Remix] 06:50
03 Clara Hill’s Folkwaves – About You feat. Thief 04:10
04 Andrew Bird – Imitosis 03:59
05 Breaks Co-Op – Duet 04:42
06 Roebeck – Atlantic 05:30
07 a race of angels – Africa Displaced 04:06
08 Findlay Brown – Losing The Will To Survive [Beyond The Wizard’s Sleeve Reanimation] 06:38
09 Choir Of Young Believers – Riot 04:40
10 Thief – Down Down 04:19
11 Little Dragon – Twice 03:06
12 Kalabrese – Hide feat. Guillermo Soraya
13 Nostalgia 77 – Little Steps 04:57
14 Jamie Woon – Wayfaring Stranger
15 Eva Be – She Walks Alone feat. Pegah Ferydoni [Secret Lover Version]*
16 Paul Weller – The Loved
* exclusive track

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Author: James McQuiston

Ph.D. in Political Science, Kent State University. I have been the editor at NeuFutur / neufutur.com since I was 15. Looking for new staff members all the time; email me if you are interested. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *