Water Fai To Release Girls in the White Dream on April 15, 2008!

On April 15, 2008, Osaka natives Water Fai will release their debut album, Girls in the White Dream. Influenced by Mogwai, Styrofoam, and Electralane, Water Fai bring a much needed feminine approach to the post-rock genre, so often dominated by male artists.

Founded in 2002, Water Fai, dynamically contrast intricate melodies and soft harmonies with violent guitar-noise and electronic effects. Members include Yuko Kureyama (guitar, vocals), Yumi Norimoto (guitar, vocals), Makkiko Toba (bass), Mayumi Ennaka (keys), and as of 2007, the only male member, Tadahiko Aono on drums.

Before the formation of Water Fai, members Yumi, Yuko, and Mayumi longed for form an all-girl band in the vein of Cibo Matto or OOIOO. They added Makiko into the mix and formed the band, not knowing how to play music. Makiko didn’t even know how to play the bass. A few months later, they performed for the first time, playing five original songs that are included on Girls in the White Dream.

This Spring, Brooklyn-based White Shoe Records will re-release Water Fai’s self released debut album. The songs were record between 2004-2006 and bring their own translation of the sentimentality captured best by the Album Leaf and Yo La Tengo.

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Author: James McQuiston

Ph.D. in Political Science, Kent State University. I have been the editor at NeuFutur / neufutur.com since I was 15. Looking for new staff members all the time; email me if you are interested. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *