Matthew Sweet to Release “Sunshine Lines” In July / Shout! Factory

On July 22, Matthew Sweet will release his 10th studio album, Sunshine Lies, in a new alliance with Shout! Factory. Fans who have eagerly awaited the album’s arrival (and have been tracking its progress under the working title Rock Bottom) will not be disappointed. Call it what you wish–Sweet terms it “power-pop-folk-rock-psychedelic-melodic-singer-songwriter-type stuff”–listeners will marvel at the depth and clarity of vision here.

By turns achingly melodic and startlingly visceral, Sunshine Lies swirls with poetic emotion and stark attitude, bringing neatly into play the entire gamut of Sweet’s stylistic experience. Flowing with masterful ease, Sweet’s uniquely personal songwriting never fails to delight, and he has described the album as “very direct, but seen through the eyes of nature, or rather modeled on its beauty, chaos and freedom, something like a stab at sonic art nouveau.”

Sunshine Lies was recorded at Lolina Green Studios in Los Angeles, CA, and produced and mixed by Matthew Sweet. Susanna Hoffs appears on the album, providing backup vocals on the title track. While familiars Ric Menck (drums), Ivan Julian (guitar), Greg Leisz (guitar/pedal steel guitar) and Richard Lloyd (guitar) are all here as well, Sweet let chance lead the way during the recording. He managed to teleport his songs into a surprisingly more abstract and psychedelic space, finding a “sure and natural realm in words, melody and performance, like a carousel mindflower.” Indeed. The vibrant Sunshine Lies will certainly revolve in your mind long after each listening.

Born in Lincoln, Nebraska, Sweet was part of the developing music scene in Athens, Georgia in the 1980s. Sweet came to fame in 1991 with his Top Five Modern Rock hit “Girlfriend,” off his certified gold album of the same name, followed by the critically acclaimed albums Altered Beast and the platinum follow up 100% Fun. After releasing a number of other excellent solo albums, Sweet formed The Thorns with fellow singer-songwriters Shawn Mullins and Pete Droge, and they released one self-titled album to positive reviews. Sweet then returned to his solo efforts, releasing Living Things and Kimi Ga Suki. In 2006 Matthew Sweet and Susanna Hoffs collaborated on the Shout! Factory release Under The Covers Vol. 1, featuring 15 of the duo’s favorite pop tunes from the 1960s.

Shout! Factory is a diversified entertainment company devoted to producing, uncovering and revitalizing the very best of pop culture – The Stuff You Grew Up On But Never Outgrew. Founders Richard Foos, Bob Emmer and Garson Foos have spent their careers sharing their music, television and film faves with discerning consumers the world over. Shout! Factory’s DVD offerings serve up classic, contemporary and cult TV series, riveting sports programs, live music, animation and documentaries in lavish packages crammed with extras. The company’s audio catalogue boasts Grammy®-nominated boxed sets, new releases from storied artists and lovingly assembled album reissues. These riches are the result of a creative acquisitions mandate that has established the company as a hotbed of cultural preservation and commercial reinvention. For more on Shout! Factory, visit

Matthew Sweet Sunshine Lies

Distributed by Sony BMG

Release Date: July 22, 2008

Selection No.: 826663-109467

Suggested List Price: $15.98

Sunshine Lies Track Listing (not final, subject to change)



Feel Fear

Sunrise Eyes

Sunshine Lies



Stick It


Back Of My Mind

Burn Through Love

Pleasure Is Mine

Time Machine

Let’s Love

When You’re Gone

Could you need me?

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Author: James McQuiston

Ph.D. in Political Science, Kent State University. I have been the editor at NeuFutur / since I was 15. Looking for new staff members all the time; email me if you are interested. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *