The Jealous Girlfriends Play Live Performance & Interview On MTV Canada

The Tripwire: “The Jealous Girlfriends are a Brooklyn quartet that sounds like Mazzy Star seducing the New Pornographers. It’s a mix of longing shoegaze and perfect pop, creating a lush and wonderful pallet of wonderful complimentary sounds…Summertime in the sun belongs to the Beach Boys, but when the sun goes down evenings in the summer now belong to The Jealous Girlfriends.” http://www.thetripwire.com/reviews/2008/3/4/the-jealous-girlfriends

New York Times : The Jealous Girlfriends, one of the best new bands in New York, float through soft and erotic clouds of guitar and keyboards that can turn grungy and turbulent” (Ben Sisario)

LA Times (Buzz Band Feature): “The Jealous Girlfriends played their first Los Angeles show on Thursday night, and it made me, well, a bit jealous I hadn’t seen the Brooklyn quartet before.”(Kevin Bronson) http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/buzzbands/2007/11/the-jealous-gir.html

New York Magazine ” An impressive, unsigned local quartet distinguished by its shimmering, synthy melodies and fresh vocal sound”

Billboard “…the Jealous Girlfriends have honed and refined their raw craft, a Spoon-like modern twist on guitar rock”

L Magazine “This is one of the strongest voices I’ve ever heard live in my entire life, and I don’t want it to stop.” Things got a bit more fast-paced throughout the rest of the show, as they rolled through one hook-filled dream-pop song after another, and Miranda never did stop singing. But she was joined by guitarist Josh Abbot, who shares singing duties on every song and provides the invaluable contrast that makes the band so interesting”

May Tour With Sea Wolf
Thu May 22 ’08 (9:00 PM) St. Louis, MO Bluebird
Fri May 23 ’08 (9:00 PM) Nashville, TN Exit / In
Sat May 24 ’08 (9:00 PM) Chapel Hill, NC Local 506
Tue May 27 ’08 (10:00 PM) New York, NY The Mercury Lounge
Wed May 28 ’08 (8:00 PM) New York, NY The Mercury Lounge
Thu May 29 ’08 (10:00 PM) Philadelphia, PA North Star
Sat May 31 ’08 (TBA) Quebec, QC Le Cercle
Wed Jun 4 ’08 (9:00 PM) Cleveland, OH Beachland Tavern
Thurs June 5 ‘08 (9 PM) Chicago IL Schuba’s
Fri June 6 ‘08 (9 PM) Minneapolis, MN 7th Street Entry
Sat Jun 7 ’08 (8:00 PM) Winnipeg, MB Parkway Theatre
Mon Jun 9 ’08 (TBA) Calgary, AB The Republik
Tue Jun 10 ’08 (TBA) Edmonton, AB Velvet Underground
Thu Jun 12 ’08 (9:00 PM) Vancouver, BC The Media Club
Fri Jun 13 ’08 (9:30 PM) Victoria, BC Lucky Bar
Sat Jun 14 ’08 (9;00 PM) Seattle, WA High Dive
Sun Jun 15 ’08 (TBA) Portland, OR Doug Fir Lounge
Tue Jun 17 ’08 (8:00 PM) San Francisco, CA The Independent
Thu Jun 19 ’08 (TBA) Los Angeles, CA Echo Plex
Fri Jun 20 ’08 (9:30 PM) San Diego, CA The Casbah

www.thejealousgirlfriends.com

www.myspace.com/thejealousgirlfriends

Author: James McQuiston

Ph.D. in Political Science, Kent State University. I have been the editor at NeuFutur / neufutur.com since I was 15. Looking for new staff members all the time; email me if you are interested. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *