Grammy Nominees Plain White T’s Put Finishing Touches on Highly-Anticipated New Album BIG BAD WORLD

Hollywood Records has announced a September 23rd release date for the upcoming Plain White T’s album BIG BAD WORLD. The highly anticipated record is the follow-up to the band’s platinum- plus-selling breakthrough release Every Second Counts. On the strength of mega-hit single “Hey There Delilah,” which rocketed to No. 1 in 10 countries and was the fourth song in history to sell over 3 million digital downloads, Every Second Counts sold over a million and a half copies worldwide and earned the Chicago quintet not one, but two Grammy nominations. The band will support the release with a North American arena tour in the fall. Tour dates to be announced shortly.

The band (Tom Higgenson/vocals, Dave Tirio/guitar, Mike Retondo/bass, De’Mar Hamilton/drums and Tim Lopez/guitar) recorded BIG BAD WORLD at Morning View Studios in Malibu, California and Groove Master Studios in Chicago with producer Johnny K, who produced two recent No.1 albums with Disturbed and 3 Doors Down. The album was mixed by Andy Wallace (Coldplay, Paul McCartney, Avenged Sevenfold). The first single off the album will be “Natural Disaster.”

The full track listing for Big Bad World is as follows:

1. “Big Bad World”
2. “Natural Disaster”
3. “Serious Mistake”
4. “Rainy Day”
5. “1234”
6. “That Girl”
7. “Sunlight”
8. “I Really Want You”
9. “Meet Me In California”
10. “Someday”

Fans can watch footage of the band making the album online thanks to a 12 webisode series entitled “Meet Me In California.” Premiering Wednesday, July 30 on, and streaming through October, each five-minute webisode will provide an up-close and personal glimpse of the band as they work together at a Malibu beach house creating their new album.

The webisodes, directed by Mike Venezia who directed the band’s live concert DVD as well as their “Making a Memory” video, and also shot in part by the band themselves, the series is an intimate and personal glimpse into the band’s creative process as they deal with the stress of producing their first album since their Grammy-nominated debut, and an insider’s peek into the more epic moments of their lives — including photo shoots, interviews with the band and their families and live performances. From the recording studio in Chicago to hanging out in Malibu, as they write new songs, rehearse, relax, argue and get ready to promote their new album, “Meet Me In California” will capture the ups and downs of a working rock band.

In other news, Higgenson will make be heard on the long-running PBS show Sesame Street on September 26th. He will sing a parody of “Hey There Delilah” with lyrics written about the letter “T”.

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Author: James McQuiston

Ph.D. in Political Science, Kent State University. I have been the editor at NeuFutur / since I was 15. Looking for new staff members all the time; email me if you are interested. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *