Passion Pit Release Debut Single “Sleepyhead”/ Play Pop Montreal & Monolith Festivals

Passion Pit Release Debut Single “Sleepyhead”/ Play Pop Montreal & Monolith Festivals/ NYC August Pianos Residencies/ “Chuck Of Change” EP Out September 14th On Frenchkiss Records

Pop Montreal Oct. 4th & Monolith Festival Sept 13th /NYC Piano’s August Residency, Aug. 13th, 20th, 27th – 9 PM
Outerland Martha’s Vineyard, MA Aug. 14th

Limited Edition 7″ Vinyl Of “Sleepyhead”/ “Better Things” Out On Neon Gold Records Sept 2

Elbo Blog Aggregator :

WFNX/Boston Phoenix & WFUN Name Passion Pit Best New Boston Act : “And winners Passion Pit, the sexy five-piece soulchild of songwriter Michael Angelakos, might just be the funkiest local group since the Jonzun Crew. Passion Pit only have a handful of shows under their belt, but as their BMP win suggests, people are psyched about this band. And for good reason: if you haven’t been experienced yet, turn up them computer speakers, point your browser to their MySpace page, click on “Better Things,” and your ass will follow.”
Boston’s Passion Pit is the brainchild of Michael Angelakos. A songwriter’s songwriter drawing from a variety of influences, from the classic pop of Randy Newman to the synth work of Giorgio Moroder.

The Chunk of Change EP was originally put together as a (belated) Valentine’s Day present to Angelakos’ girlfriend which then prompted him to give it out to friends and fellow students at Emerson College. Angelakos wrote and recorded the entire album by himself and it only hints at what is to come from this extremely talented perfectionist. The production of the recording – brief, sporadic, and explosive – worked towards the development of Angelakos’ signature euphoric and blissfully melancholic sound. Frenchkiss Records will reissue the ep this fall with the addition of two bonus tracks “Better Things” and “Sleepyhead” that are already catching the online world on fire. All of this is in preparation for Passion Pit’s debut full length coming out in early 2009.

Playing as a five piece live, Passion Pit has already blown away audiences opening up for Death Cab For Cutie, Girl Talk, These New Puritans and more. Also winning the WFNX/Boston Phoenix Best Music Poll as the Best New Local Act of 2008, Passion Pit hopes to bring their soulful dance explosion to your town this fall.


1. I’ve Got Your Number
2. Smile Upon Me
3. Cuddle Fuddle
4. Live To Tale The Tell
5. Better Things
6. Sleepyhead

The Band: Michael Angelakos (voice, keys, piano, synth), Ian Hultquist (synth, voice)
Thom Plasse (bass, synth), Ayad Al Adhamy (synth, sample, voice)

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Author: James McQuiston

Ph.D. in Political Science, Kent State University. I have been the editor at NeuFutur / since I was 15. Looking for new staff members all the time; email me if you are interested. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *