Old Crow Medicine Show’s Tennessee Pusher Debuts #50 on Billboard Hot 100!!!

TENNESSEE PUSHER, the third Nettwerk release from OLD CROW MEDICINE SHOW (OCMS) debuted today at #50 on the Billboard Hot 100 with 10,231 albums sold in its first week.  The album, which was produced by Don Was, also landed at #7 on the Top Country Albums chart, #1 on the Top Bluegrass Albums chart, and #16 on the Top Digital Albums chart.

The band recently wrapped up the east coast leg of their US tour in support of the album, selling out shows in DC, Boston, New York and Portland.  They will appear on A Prairie Home Companion on October 4 before beginning the next leg of the tour, where they’ll play two headlining shows at the historic Ryman Theatre in Nashville (the second night is already sold out).  They also recently did a World Café session that is set to air in October, date TBD.

With their relentless touring, OCMS have come to be known as energetic performers with an unbridled spirit. The Boston Herald said of their show last week, “…the Americana quintet’s infectious blitzkrieg of frenzied plucking and hollered harmonies compelled fans to abandon their seats for the aisles, where they jumped and danced with joyful abandon.”

OCMS is also making a huge impact at radio in the Americana, AAA and College formats with well over 50 adds and coming in at  #11, #25 and #41 on the respective charts.  Supporters vary from adult rock leaning WXPN in Philadelphia, to Nashville beacon WSM and the very indie rock KEXP in Seattle.

QUOTES:

Check out what the critics are saying about TENNESSEE PUSHER:

“It’s OCMS’s scrappy, fervent playing—live, the band is a mesmerizing mess of strings and sweat—that reinvents old-time for a whole new generation.” – The Onion AV Club

“Sometimes new music comes out that legitimately feels deep rooted in the past…Tennessee Pusher harnesses that spirit, basking in classic traditions, yet charging on with its own energy, making for a folksy, bluesy, pickin’ treat.” – Relix

“Old Crow’s youthful spirit is alive and well in the urgent edge of their harmonies, the aggressiveness of their instrumental interplay, and the open-eyed nature of their storytelling.” – No Depression

“Old Crow Medicine Show plays Americana at its best and is undoubtedly its best band.”
– Performing Songwriter

“The young men in the hard-driving Nashville band Old Crow Medicine Show deliver old-time country music as it’s seldom before been heard. Their heartbreaking, plunky ballads and unfastened fiddle tunes are charged with the youthful vigor of punk rock.” – The New Yorker

TOUR DATES

Thur, Oct 9                        Nashville, TN @ Ryman Auditorium
Fri, Oct 10                        Nashville, TN @ Ryman Auditorium
Sat, Oct 11                        Louisville, KY @ Palace Theatre
Thur, Oct 16                        Bloomington, IN @ Bluebird
Fri, Oct 17                        Milwaukee, WI @ Pabst Theatre
Sat, Oct 18                        Chicago, IL @ Riviera Theatre
Wed, Oct 22                        St. Louis, MO @ The Pageant
Fri, Oct 24                        Covington, KY @ Madison Theatre
Sat, Oct 25                        Roanoke, VA @ Performing Arts Theatre
Thur, Nov 6                        Los Angeles, CA @ Henry Fonda Theatre
Fri, Nov 7                        San Francisco, CA @The Fillmore
Sat, Nov 8                        San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore
Sun, Nov 9                        Arcata, CA @Humboldt State University
Tue, Nov 11                        Eugene, OR @McDonald Theatre
Wed, Nov 12                        Portland, OR @ Crystal Ballroom
Thur, Nov 13                        Seattle, WA @ Moore Theatre
Sat, Nov 15                         Missoula, MT @ Wilma Theatre
Mon, Nov 17                        Boise, ID @ Knitting Factory
Tue, Nov 18                        Salt Lake City, UT @The Depot
Wed, Nov 19                        Denver, CO @ Ogden Theatre
Thur, Nov 20                        Boulder, CO @ Boulder Theatre
Wed, Dec 3                        Boone, NC @ Legends at Appalachian State
Thur, Dec 4                        Asheville, NC @ Orange Peel
Fri, Dec 5                        Knoxville, TN @ Tennessee Theatre
Sat, Dec 6                        Charlotte, NC @ Neighborhood Theatre

Author: James McQuiston

Ph.D. in Political Science, Kent State University.

I have been the editor at NeuFutur / neufutur.com since I was 15. Looking for new staff members all the time; email me if you are interested. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *