OUTRAGEOUS CHERRY : new album out February 17th

We are happy to announce the upcoming release from Detroit indie psych
rockers, Outrageous Cherry, on February 17th.

“Universal Malcontents” is their ninth release, and this new set of pop songs once again
showcases the band’s distinctive mid-seventies sensibilities. The album is evocative of artists
such as early Roxy Music, Mott the Hoople, Sparks, 10cc and Eno, and meanders at times
into the improvisational realms charted by Amon Duul 2, Man, and early Soft Machine.

Hailing from Detroit, and named after a bright red hair dye, Outrageous Cherry has reached
well-deserved cult status by releasing amazing psych/pop albums on labels such as Bar None,
Mind Expansion, and Alan McGee’s Poptones, to name just a few. Many of their songs have
appeared in movies, and their cover version of “Lord Have Mercy on Me”, recorded for Fat
Possum’s Junior Kimbrough’s tribute album, graced the opening credits of the film “Black Snake Moan”.

Main man singer/songwriter Matthew Smith has also produced albums for the Go, Nathaniel Mayer,
Paul “Wine” Jones, and others, and has played with Epic Soundtracks, Andre Williams, the Witches,
and Destroy All Monsters. Guitarist Larry Ray was a member of 70’s Detroit rockers the Ivories, and
played with legendary psych/folk guitarist Ted Lucas (Spike Drivers/Misty Wizards). Bassist Sean
Ellwood was a member of the Cyril Lords and Reptile Forcefield, while drummer Samantha Linn has
played with Little Claw and the Arch Mystics.

The first pressing of “Universal Malcontents” comes on orange vinyl and is limited to 800 copies.

FREE MP3 I Wouldn’t Treat My Enemies The Way You Treat Yourself

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *