Yukon Blonde to release debut LP February 9, 2010!

After returning from a cross-Canada tour with Jon-Rae Fletcher, both as his backing band and his opening band, Alphababy packed their bags and moved from Kelowna to Vancouver. Big changes lead to new beginnings, and with that, the band changed their name to Yukon Blonde, signed to Toronto-based Nevado Records (Bahamas, Fox Jaws), put their 300 show history behind them (including performances alongside Ladyhawk, Black Mountain and Women), and set out to write all new material, which they recorded in Vancouver with Shawn Cole (Bend Sinister, You Say Party! We Say Die!).

Almost a year later, the result was a set of 14 songs. Borrowing from the best, the band looked for influence in 60’s rock harmonies, thick yet simple hooks, and depression-era furniture upholstery, leading them to be compared to Supertramp, Fleetwood Mac, Crosby/Stills/Nash, and America. Four songs became Everything In Everyway – the band’s debut EP, which was released in Canada and internationally (digital) on October 6th 2009, introducing the new band, the new songs and the new name. Old friends of long stretches of highway and sleeping on floors, the band set-out to do a 37-date tour across Canada in October/November which picked up dates at POP Montreal, Halifax POP Explosion and CMJ, and ended in a triumphant return to their home town of Kelowna on November 8th 2009 – almost two months later, picking up many rave reviews along the way.

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *