Heads Up! – re-release of one of the best albums in the history of funk/rock collaborations

Metal Mind Productions presents re-release of one of the best albums in the history of funk/rock collaborations – “Soul Brother Crisis Intervention” by Heads Up!.

The band is one of the most overlooked groups in the entire history of funk/rock collaborations. Their unique sound, which sprung out in the late 80’s/early 90’s period, combined such musical genres as punk rock, thrash metal, funk, jazz and soul! All of the musicians – Arty (guitar, backing vocals), Dave (vocals), Matty (drums) and Drew (bass, backing vocals) – showcased amazing skills, delivering a truly powerful dose of electrifying music, which followed the late 80’s funk explosion (as almost every rock band desperately wanted to incorporate funk into their sound). Heads Up!’s debut album “Soul Brother Crisis Intervention” was released in 1990 by the acclaimed label Roadrunner Records, instantly scoring great reviews in the press and gathering numerous fans of both rock and the alternative. The album’s content was often compared to such bands as Red Hot Chili Peppers, Primus and Faith No More, but that definitely weren’t their only influences, as careful listeners could easily spot traces of Funkadelic, James Brown and Jimi Hendrix in Heads Up!’s music.

This exclusive re-release of “Soul Brother Crisis Intervention” comes with an impressive bonus content – the entire 5-song “Duke” EP, which Heads Up! released in 1991, shortly before disbanding. Nowadays the group remains a shining, yet overlooked gem – a hidden treasure of the rock scene. May this re-release reveal to you the rich and addictive mixture of thrash heaviness and funk energy!

“Soul Brother Crisis Intervention” will be released by Metal Mind Productions on 19th January in Europe and 10th March in USA (via MVD). New digipak edition is limited to 2000 copies. Digitally remastered using 24-Bit process on a golden disc.

Heads Up!
“Soul Brother Crisis Intervention” (remastered) + Duke (EP)
Label: Metal Mind Records
Cat. No.: MASS CD 1253 DG
Barcode: 5907785034075
Format: CD Digipak (limited edition of 2000 numbered copies)
Genre: funk/rock/metal fusion
Release date: 19.01.2009 Europe / 10.03.2009 USA


1. Corny Style Pizza
2. Future Tense
3. Big Mama
4. Happy Cats
5. Brothers of the Blue Flame
6. Pumps
7. #3
8. Clouds
9. Gum Flapper
10. Come on Baby

Bonus tracks:

11. Dave’s Song
12. I’m Alive
13. Love U
14. Crippled Dog
15. Sleep Sister, Sleep

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *