The legendary ANTHRAX will be hitting the road in Europe this summer with a series of festivals and headline dates as a precursor to the band’s forthcoming new studio album, Worship Music will have a Fall worldwide release. The European dates kick off in Estonia on June 13 and continue into August, with the band returning to the U.S. for their July 9 headline appearance on the opening night of the Rocklahoma Festival in Pryor, OK.

The band has been putting the finishing touches on Worship Music, their first new studio album in six years. The album marks the studio debut of new singer Dan Nelson who joins longtime members Scott Ian (rhythm guitar), Frank Bello (bass), Charlie Benante (drums), and Rob Caggiano (lead guitar). A return to Anthrax’s heaviest best, confirmed tracks include “Vampires,” “Crawl,” “The Devil You Know,” “The Giant,” “Fight ’em ‘Til You Can’t” and “Earth On Hell.” The album was produced by Caggiano and Anthrax.

Said Charlie Benante, “NEW SONGS, NEW VOICE, NEW ENERGY! Here we go, back in the metal saddle again. I am happy to be a part of all the festivals this year. We’ve been away and I know you’ve missed us. It is time to worship the music that we all love, ANTHRAX METAL!”

“I can’t wait to get to Europe and play shows,” added Scott Ian. “It’s been far too long and I miss our insane friends all over the continent. I’m especially excited about all the festivals we’re playing. I expect nothing less than complete and utter insanity!”

Anthrax is one of metal’s all time great acts. Along with Metallica, Slayer and Megadeth, they are credited with originating the thrash genre and the band has gone on to sell over 10-million albums worldwide and play to countless fans across the globe. The band has created such genre defining albums as Among the Living, State of Euphoria, and Sound of White Noise, and such legendary tracks as “Metal Thrashing Mad,” “Indians,” “Caught In A Mosh,” “Among the Living,” “I Am The Law,” “Only,” and of course the Public Enemy collaboration that went on to spawn a new genre – “Bring the Noise.”

Two thousand and nine marks the 25th anniversary of the band’s debut release, Fistful of Metal. To celebrate, Megaforce Records is releasing a limited edition (only 2,000 copies will be made) vinyl release of the album on May 12, 2009. The package will be spread over three 10-inch records in a tri-fold die cut jacket, and will also include the group’s 1985 EP, Armed and Dangerous. The Fistful of Metal vinyl limited edition reissue will retail for $39.98 and will be available at Anthrax’s official website – – and record stores across the U.S.

Confirmed dates for Anthrax’s 2009 European tour are as follows:

13 Rabarock Festival, Talinn, Estonia
17 Rockhal, Luxembourg, Luxembourg
18 La Locomotive, Paris, France
19 Hellfest, Clisson, France
20 Kobetasonik, Bilboa, Spain
22 Sottotetto, Bologna, Italy
23 Schuur, Lucerne, Switzerland
25 T-Mobile In Music Festival, Zagreb, Croatia
26 Noc Plna Hvezd, Trinec, Czech Republic
27 Serengeti Festival, Schloss Holte-Stukenbrock, Germany
28 Devilside Open Air, Duisburg, Germany
28 Graspop, Dessel, Belgium
30 Paard, Den Haag, Netherlands

1 Melkweg, Amsterdam, Netherlands
3 Reload Festival, Twistringen, Germany
4 Sonisphere, Hockenheim, Germany
18 Sonisphere, Hultsfred, Sweden
25 Sonisphere, Pori, Finland

1 Sonisphere, Knebworth, England

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *