V.A. Secret Love 5, To Be Released By Sonar Kollectiv

With the release of the Secret Love compilation series Sonar Kollektiv have succeeded in encapsulating this spirit shared among friends and fans of the label and in delivering a very personal vision of what soul-folk music is. And given the success of the previous volumes of Secret Love, Jazzanova faced something of a challenge in putting together this 5th issue in the series. Of course, expectations are high following the acclaim received by the previous four Secret Love compilations. But Jazzanova have hit the nail on the head yet again this time with another delightfully diverse compilation rich in some of the best new soul-folk around.

Dane Nikolaj Grandjean gets the ball rolling with a gentle song appropriately entitled The First Picture. Nikolaj, who releases on Music For Dreams, shows that all you really need for a great song is guitar and voice. He is then followed up by fellow Scandinavians, Choir Of Young Believers playing the somber and heart breaking tune “Things I Stole”.

“Broken Promises” by Quiet Village (aka Radioslave or Rekids) is an uplifting downbeat number with plenty of soul so it fits the Secret Love bill perfectly. The chilled out track culminates in an Ennio Moricone style whistling solo. “Deeper Waters” by Recloose is taken from the album Perfect Timing. This divine song features the vocal talents of Joe Dukie from New Zealand reggae minstrels Fat Freddys Drop who already appeared on Secret Love 2 with their song “Del Fuego”.

“Love You Straight” by Pop Levi is taken from the Never Never Love single on Counter Records. Pop Levi has also released on Ninja Tune and Emperor Norton and Love You Straight is pure romantic pop, reminiscent in production of 70s greats such as E.L.O. or Wings while his voice has a hint of Gilbert O’Sullivan to it. “Walking Home” is the title track from Crowdpleaser’s forthcoming EP on Zurich label Drumpoet Community. The melodica on this LEXX 7” version give the piece something of a dub feeling so Crowdpleaser holds true to his name.

Secret Love 5 goes from strength to strength with Savath & Savalas, a mellow Latin/psychedelic side-project of NY/Barcelona based Guillermo Scott Herren, perhaps better known as Prefuse73, with notable releases on Warp. Under the SAVATH & SAVALAS moniker he has released on B-Music, Twisted Nerve, Finders Keepers, Hefty as well as on Ninja Tunes. Estrella De Dos Caras is a psyched-out trip that will carry you away on a trance-like journey. Following on from SAVATH & SAVALAS is Sonar Kollektiv recording artist LARS BARTKUHN whose Harmony Of The Spheres is another slightly psychedelic tune and could appeal to fans of TANGERINE DREAM. Absynth by WOOLFY VS PROJECTIONS originally came out in 2007 as 12″ on Permanent Vacation.. Absynth, a collaboration with PROJECTIONS, is a gently chilled out groove track. The lyrics are sparse but amidst the synths one can discern a voice ask “Is this heaven?…”, it might well be, at least if you’re in love with the secrets of JAZZANOVA’s latest compilation!

Next up are THE RUBIES with their hit single I Feel Electric feat Feist. The band is making waves in 2008 with recent support slots for JAMIE LIDELL and WHITEST BOY ALIVE. Their album Explode From The Center came out on Tellé Records (home of ROYKSOPP) last year and I Feel Electric feat. the unmistakable guest vocals by acclaimed Canadian chanteuse FEIST.

THIEF is the only artist to be included on all 5 Secret Love compilations to date. As regular Secret Love listeners will know, the group is made up of AXEL and STEFAN from JAZZANOVA (and EXTENDED SPIRIT) and Berlin singer-songwriter SASCHA GOTTSCHALK. Down is a mesmerizing and sublime space-pop number laced with broken beats and intricately cut samples. Which brings us to the penultimate song on Secret Love 5, Song For Wolfie by the ever illusive CLUTCHIE HOPKINS – taken from his album Walking Backwards on Ubiquity Records. This quirky track contains lots of melodica, live percussion and a blues voice like no one other. Its presence on Secret Love 5 is sure to strengthen the CLUTCHIE HOPKINS legend.

Last but not least, is Dublin based composer/producer STEE DOWNES who brings this sensational compilation to a harmonious close, fitting as Destruction of Ourselves is in fact STEE DOWNES very first solo release. Destruction of Ourselves is another fine song which rounds off the new episode in the Secret Love story nicely.

Secret Love 5 is another high class compilation from Sonar Kollektiv. JAZZANOVA understand the art of selecting a good compilation better than most. So the CD has just the right balance and momentum to make for a fully enjoyable listen from start to finish. From established artists such as FEIST, QUIET VILLAGE, SAVATH & SAVALAS (aka PREFUSE73), POP LEVI, RECLOOSE & JOE DUKIE (of FAT FREDDYS DROP), CROWDPLEASER, THIEF to fresh new talents like CHOIR OF YOUNG BELIEVERS, NIKOLAJ GRANDJEAN, LARS BARTKUHN or STEE DOWNES. JAZZANOVA have done it again with Secret Love 5 on Sonar Kollektiv!

it’s a great all round compilation full of surprises and with something for everyone’s taste.
1. Nikolaj Grandjean – The First Picture 02:06
2. Choir Of Young Believers – Things I Stole (Evil Death Machine Cover) 04:43
3. Brent Cash – This Sea, These Waves 04:06
4. Quiet Village – Broken Promises 05:46
5. Recloose – Deeper Waters feat. Joe Dukie (Eva Be’s Secret Lover Remix) 03:32
6. Pop Levi – Love You Straight (Astral Version) 03:18
7. Crowdpleaser & Ly Sanders – Walking Home (Lexx’ 7“ Version) 03:12
8. Boom Clap Bachelors – Combiner 05:43
9. Savath & Savalas – Estrellas De Dos Caras 04:30
10. Lars Bartkuhn – Harmony Of The Spheres 05:50
11. Woolfy vs. Projections – Absynth 05:58
12. The Rubies – I Feel Electric feat. Feist (Tiedeye Remix) 08:42
13. Thief – Down, Down (Owusu Remix) 04:21
14. Clutchy Hopkins – Song For Wolfie 04:35
15. Stee Downes – Destruction Of Ourselves 05:23

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *