Susperia – re-issues out in July

Metal Mind Productions presents one of Norway’s most acclaimed metal acts – Susperia. The band emerged on the scene in the year 2000, bringing a powerful mixture of black and thrash metal, which instantly won the hearts of thousands of metalheads worldwide. In the following years the band’s style has developed and improved – their music became a true melting pot of various genres, connected together with the same heaviness that Susperia delivered from the very beginning. These exclusive re-releases of the group’s first two albums – “Predominance” and “Vindication” – showcase the birth of this talented metal acts.

Susperia’s origins go way back to 1998, when drummer Tjodalv (Dimmu Borgir) and guitarist Cyrus (Satyricon, Old Man’s Child) used to jam regularly, developing ideas for what soon was to become a brand new musical project. The newly found group was named Seven Sins and soon the search for the remaining members began. Luckily, Tjodalv bumped into vocalist Athera at 1999’s Wacken Festival and handed him a CD with a bunch of song ideas written with Cyrus. Athera loved the material and decided to join the project, bringing along two musicians from his own band – bassist Memnock and guitarist Elvorn. The freshly formed line-up entered Pitfire Studios in Oslo and recorded a 5-track demo – “Illusion of Evil”. The demo caused quite a commotion on Norway’s metal scene, resulting in a bidding war between several labels. Eventually, Susperia decided to join the Nuclear Blast family, finalizing their deal in early 2000.
In October the band entered the legendary Abyss Studios in Sweden, where under the careful eye of Peter Tägtgren himself, they began recording their debut album – “Predominance”. The LP saw the light of day in March 2001, instantly winning acclaim among critics and fans. The band introduced an amazing blend of thrash, death and black metal, bringing ten powerful tunes of sheer destruction. Some reviewers saw the group as a combination of Cradle of Filth and At The Gates, while others spotted influences from such acts as Moonspell, Opeth, Children of Bodom and even Dream Theater! With such tracks as the opening “I Am Pain”, the Dimmu Borgir-styled “Illusions of Evil” and the vile “The Coming of a Darker Time” the band proved that their musical formula is a well-crafted killing machine!
On May 6th Susperia released their second album, called “Vindication”. Again recorded at the Abyss Studios, this time the LP was co-produced by Peter Tägtgren who, believing in the band’s great success, charged them nothing for the production duties! “Vindication” was a straight-forward continuation of the ideas gathered on the debut album, just with more variety and more power! The group’s songwriting skills have certainly improved – crushing riffs and catchy melodies made up for a truly memorable metal experience. Vocalist Athera introduced a truly spectacular vocal range, at times sounding even like Phil Anselmo or Tom Araya! The highlights of this album included such tracks as “The Bitter Man”, “Anguished Scream (For Vengeance)” and “Bleed Yourself” – all of which became long-time Susperia classics. The press wrote very enthusiastically about the LP, calling it “one of the most groundbreaking albums in modern metal”.

Today, Susperia is considered to be one of the top names on the Scandinavian metal scene. With their unique and powerful combination of melodic death metal riffs, thrash metal aggression and black metal feeling, they stand as true ambassadors of challenging and ambitious music. The band’s first two albums – “Predominance” and “Vindication” – are to this day praised as milestones in modern metal.

Metal Mind Productions will re-release both albums on 6th July in Europe and 11th August in USA (via MVD). New 2CD digipak edition includes 5 bonus tracks and is limited to numbered 1000 copies. Digitally remastered using 24-Bit process on a golden disc.

“Predominance / Vindication” (remastered + bonus tracks)

Label: Metal Mind Records
Cat. No.: MASS CD 1291 DGD
Barcode: 5907785035034
Format: 2 CD Digipak (limited edition of 1000 numbered copies)
Genre: black / thrash metal
Release date: 06.07.2009 Europe / 11.08.2009 USA


CD 1 – Predominance:

1. I Am Pain
2. Vainglory
3. Illusions Of Evil
4. Specimen
5. Journey Into Black
6. Of Hate We Breed
7. Objects Of Desire
8. The Hellchild
9. Blood On My Hands
10. The Coming Of A Darker Time

Bonus Tracks:
11. Behind Consecrated Walls
12. Of Hate We Breed (Live)
13. Vainglory (Live)

CD 2 – Vindication

1. Cage Of Remembrance
2. The Bitter Man
3. Anguished Scream (For Vengeance)
4. Petrified
5. The Bounty Hunter
6. Completion
7. Warmaster
8. Dead Man’s World
9. Cast Life Into Fire
10. Bleed Yourself

Bonus Tracks:
11. Anguished Scream (Live)
12. Petrified (Live)

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *