Two Hours Traffic prep “Territory” for US arrival

Fresh from an immensely successful tour of Australia, Two Hours Traffic prepares to release Territory in the United States on September 7th via Bumstead Productions and Red Eye Distribution.

Territory is the follow up to the Charlottetown, Ontario band’s Polaris Prize nominated and internationally acclaimed sophomore album, Little Jabs. The US version of Territory will feature four previously unreleased songs from the Canadian only release of Little Jabs. Once again produced by Joel Plaskett, Territory builds on the promise of it’s predecessor as the band continues to write and record sunny pop gems for the heart and head. Territory, however also finds Two Hours Traffic discovering the shadows at the side of the road. Right from the get go this becomes apparent as the gold into lead alchemy of the rousing opener “Noisemaker” kicks in and by the time the title track tells its tale of disillusionment and betrayal you know you are settling in for a drive on the darker side. Indeed, songs such as “Weightless One”, “Drop Alcohol”, “Wicked Side”, and “Lost Boys” all explore the approaching dusk but just like the more hopeful tracks on the album (“Happiness Burns”, “Sing A Little Hymn”) they all lock into the close your eyes, sing along choruses and instantly memorable lyrics that have put Two Hours Traffic on the melodic map.

Initially conceived as a two-piece, lead singer Liam Corcoran and guitarist Alec O’Hanley recruited bassist Andrew MacDonald and drummer Derek Ellis while attending university in their hometown of Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island. After releasing their April Storm EP in 2003 a friendship was struck up with Halifax hero Joel Plaskett who offered to produce the band’s first proper album. They’ve been working together ever since. While their eponymous debut and their follow up Isolator EP were received warmly by critics, it wasn’t until 2007’s breakthrough Little Jabs that the world really took notice. Appearing on dozens of year-end best of lists, Little Jabs also garnered an ECMA for Best Pop Recording and was a finalist for the coveted Polaris Music Prize. Add to this, three coast to coast tours, appearances at festivals such as Hillside, CMJ and SXSW and shows across the Atlantic and you have one of the most visible and successful Canadian independent acts of the last two years.

Artist – Two Hours Traffic
Album – Territory
US Release Date – September 7, 2010
Label – Bumstead

Tracklist for Territory:

01. Noisemaker
02. Wicked Side
03. Territory
04. Weightless One
05. Painted Halo
06. Just Listen
07. Drop Alcohol
08. Monster Closet
09. Lost Boys
10. Happiness Burns
11. Sing & Little Hymn
12. Heroes of the Sidewalk*
13. Jezebel*
14. Nighthawks*
15. Backseat Sweetheart*

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Author: James McQuiston

Ph.D. in Political Science, Kent State University. I have been the editor at NeuFutur / since I was 15. Looking for new staff members all the time; email me if you are interested. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *