In Bergen, Norway, Razika, comprised of four precocious 19-year-old girls, have discovered how to conjure these emotions, channeling a mix of innocence and rebellion, romance and heartbreak, and gift-giving and gun-slinging into their debut album Program 91 (out August 16 on Smalltown Supersound). Formed in 2005 and named after a code word used by the band to describe a cute guy, Marie Amdam, Maria Råkil, Marie Moe and Embla Karidotter Dahleng have been childhood friends since the age of 6, discovering their parents’ rock records before delving into punk as early teenagers. The album is a glorious contradiction; an exhilarating mix of ska, Riot Grrl, 60s girl groups, post-punk and upbeat, C86 pop that would make Phil Spector, The Specials and The Raincoats proud.

Influences aside, Program 91 finds the perfect middle ground between late-night, detached cool and youthful ebullience. “Nytt Pa Nytt” (“New on New”) and “Middelalder” (“Middle Ages”) recall the B-movie, Spaghetti Western ska of The Specials and The English Beat, while “Taste My Dream” and “Aldri” (“Never”) revel in ska-pop, despite a heartfelt longing in Amdam’s vocals. Elsewhere, the appropriately titled “Youth” is a light, airy summertime track that would go well alongside your Peter, Bjorn and John albums. On “Why We Have to Wait,” Razika’s cover of 1960s Norwegian pop group The Pussycats, Amdam sings, “Why we have to wait so long/People say we’re far too young.” Judging by the dexterity and maturity inherent on every song of Program 91, no falser words have ever been uttered.

Program 91 Tracklisting

1. Youth

2. Why Have We To Wait

3. Vondt I Hjertet

4. Taste My Dream

5. Aldri

6. Nytt Pa Nytt

7. Eg vetsje riktig

8. Walk In The Park

9. Above All

10. Hvem skal tro på deg na

11. Middelalder

Razika Online:




Author: James McQuiston

Ph.D. in Political Science, Kent State University.I have been the editor at NeuFutur / neufutur.com since I was 15. Looking for new staff members all the time; email me if you are interested. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *