Brooklyn’s WEIRD OWL Unmasks New Video “SKIN THE DAWN”

WEIRD OWL, the Brooklyn band that creates music by “searching out the convergence of imagination, poetry and sound,” has just released its sophomore album Build Your Beast A Fire (Tee Pee Records). The follow up to the band’s 2009 debut Ever the Silver Chord be Loosed was recorded with Justin Pizzoferrato (Dinosaur Jr., Witch, Sonic Youth) and Bishop Allen’s Justin Rice and has been called “the great lost classic-rock album” and “a trippy prog journey”. Today, Brooklyn Vegan premieres WEIRD OWL’s far-out, cult music video for the track “Skin the Dawn”.

WEIRD OWL will hold a special Build Your Beast A Fire album release show tonight at Brooklyn’s Union Pool. The Village Voice recently premiered one of two title tracks from the record, “Build Your Beast A Fire I”, which it notes “has a cosmic lilt and smoky churn, somewhere between ritual and choogle”

The track listing for WEIRD OWL’s Build Your Beast a Fire is as follows:

1.) No Time Nor No Space

2.) Up From the Root

3.) Stral Proj

4.) Tiny Sleeping Animals

5.) Mirrors in the Mud

6.) Parallax Eyes

7.) Build Your Beast a Fire II

8.) Saucer-Shaped Shadow

9.) Skin the Dawn

10.) Two-Headed Brother

11.) Horn Antler Tusk

12.) Mountains on Top of Buried Stars

13.) Space Bolero

14.) What We See What We Know

15.) Build Your Beast a Fire I

WEIRD OWL features John Cassidy (keyboard, synth), Kenneth Cook (bass, keyboard, synth, back-up vocals), Sean Reynolds (drums, percussion), Jon Rudd (guitar) and Trevor Tyrrell (vocals, guitar).

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Author: James McQuiston

Ph.D. in Political Science, Kent State University. I have been the editor at NeuFutur / since I was 15. Looking for new staff members all the time; email me if you are interested. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *