Hey Arnold!: Season 1 (DVD Set)

Nickelodeon has been trying to release different cartoons for the first time on DVD. This means that shows that were all the rage in the nineties and two-thousands can be enjoyed in a clear and visually appealing format. Hey Arnold! is the latest show to get this treatment, and the release has been given a price point (about $20-30 depending on where one picks up the disc) that should easily be accessible to anyone that wishes to relive their childhood.

The 20 beginning episodes that started out the show are presented without deletions or other modifications; this 4-DVD set is chock full of Arnold, Helga, and the rest of the characters. Strong sales of this release will ensure that the other seasons will soon get the same treatment. The ability of Nickelodeon to make such a compelling package should bode well for other shows that never made the jump from airing to home video, or from VHS or DVD. For those that originally missed the show during its new episode-run, this DVD set represents a perfect way to familiarize oneself.

The DVD set is oriented in such a way that viewers can see the episodes in their original airing order, without having to bog through the different commercials that were (and still are) present on a cable channel. As the holiday season is coming up, I believe that this DVD set would be a perfect gift for anyone that liked the show or would appreciate the off the wall humor and strong storytelling that was such a hallmark of Hey Arnold. I know that the DVD set will be in my player for months to come.

Rating: 8.8/10

Hey Arnold!: Season 1 (DVD Set) / 2011 Nickelodeon / 450 Minutes / http://www.nickelodeon.com

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Author: James McQuiston

Ph.D. in Political Science, Kent State University. I have been the editor at NeuFutur / neufutur.com since I was 15. Looking for new staff members all the time; email me if you are interested. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *