The New Mastersounds Announce their BREAKS FROM THE BORDER U.S. TOUR

The ambassadors of the Northern England Soul scene, the New Mastersounds will hitting the road this November in support of their new record “Breaks from the Border,” their first album recorded on U.S. soil.

The New Mastersounds funk powerhouse includes Eddie Roberts (guitar), Simon Allen (drums), Peter Shand (bass) and Joe Tatton (keys). On tour the set will include cuts from “Breaks from the Border” the seventh studio recording from NMS released August 9th on Tallest Man Records. “Breaks” marks a new era in the bands sonic landscape by topping their unique syncopated grooves with group vocal stylings. This break from convention was met with enthusiasm from fans and critics alike. Performer Magazine claimed that “Cover to cover their latest release plays out with funky flawlessness” and said “if the late James Brown was still alive today and looking for a backing band you’d have to think that one act that would be near the top of his list is British Funk-Soul group the New Mastersounds.”

Known for their power packed and dance inducing live show the New Mastersounds have been motivating hips to sway and rears ends to shake all over the world. This past year the New Mastersounds played not one, but two sets at Fuji Rock, when they were asked to step in to take Buddy Guys spot, wowed crowds at the world famous Red Rocks, the North Coast Music Festival, Gathering of the Vibes, Moe.Down, Summer Camp and more.

“The New Mastersounds killed it, complete with organ funk- not even the rain stopped the crowd from dancing.” The Local Tourist (on the North Coast Festival set)

“They did it again, they never seem to fail, they’ve got to be one of the tightest bands in the business right now. The New Mastersounds always seem to deliver with flawless precision” – Listen Up Denver

As a band, and as individuals, NMS have collaborated or jammed with an impressive array of musicians DJs and producers, including: Lou Donaldson (Blue Note), Corinne Bailey Rae (EMI), Quantic (Tru Thoughts), Carleen Anderson (Young Disciples / Brand New Heavies), Keb Darge & Kenny Dope (Kay Dee Records), John Arnold (Ubiquity), Mr Scruff (Ninja Tune), Snowboy (Ubiquity), Fred Everything (2020vision), Andy Smith (Portishead), James Taylor (JTQ), LSK (Faithless), Lack of Afro (Freestyle), Page McConnell (Phish), Karl Denson (Lenny Kravitz / Greyboy AllStars), Melvin Sparks (Blue Note Records), George Porter Jr (The Meters), Fred Wesley, Maceo Parker (JB’s), and Art Neville (Neville Brothers, The Meters).

Tour Dates
Oct 29 Honolulu, HI Hallowbaloo Festival
Oct 31 Maui, HI Paia Charley’s
Nov 02 Austin, TX The Parish
Nov 03 Houston, TX House of Blues – Parish
Nov 04 New Orleans, LA Tipitina’s
Nov 08 Nashville, TN Mercy Lounge
Nov 09 Chattanooga, TN Rhythm n Brews
Nov 10 Savannah, GA Loco’s
Nov 11 Atlanta, GA Masquerade
Nov 12 Live Oak, FL Bear Creek Music Festival
Nov 13 Live Oak, FL Bear Creek Music Festival
Nov 16 Charlottesville VA Jefferson Theatre
Nov 17 Baltimore, MD Soundstage
Nov 18 New York, NY Highline Ballroom
Nov 19 Philadelphia, PA Blockley Theatre
Nov 20 Boston, MA Royale Theatre
Dec 31 San Francisco, CA Warfield Theatre w/ Tedeschi Trucks
Jan 01 Deland, FL Bondfire Festival
Jan 08 Boca Raton, FL Revolution
Jan 09 Ft Lauderdale, FL Jamcruise 10

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Author: James McQuiston

Ph.D. in Political Science, Kent State University. I have been the editor at NeuFutur / since I was 15. Looking for new staff members all the time; email me if you are interested. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *