STRFKR Side Project, Sexton Blake, Plays the Hits Now Available on Vinyl

In 2007, Josh Hodges (mastermind behind Starfucker), was asked by his friend to quit his job so he could record an album of cover songs.  “It was actually my friend’s idea,” Hodges says. “He wanted to hear what some of these songs would sound like if I performed them. I thought it sounded like a fun idea.”

What grew out of that proposition is Sexton Blake Plays The Hits.  With covers ranging from Elton John to LL Cool J, ELO to Milli Vanilli, this album is a perfect snapshot in time that shows how Hodges would go on to approach his own songs under the Starfucker moniker. “It’s a pretty funny selection of songs, some ridiculous and some legit,” he explains, “I had a lot of fun making this record.”

Now available for the first time ever on vinyl via Polyvinyl Records, Sexton Blake Plays The Hits will be released July 17 on 180-gram, gold vinyl and limited to 1000 copies. Pre-order your copy here.

Stream Sexton Blake Plays the Hits on STRFKR’s SoundCloud below.


Track Listing

1. Hungry Heart (Bruce Springsteen)
2. Bette Davis Eyes (Kim Carnes)
3. Young Turks (Rod Stewart)
4. Making Love Out of Nothing at All (Air Supply)
5. I Need Love (LL Cool J)
6. The Logical Song (Supertramp)
7. Oh l’Amour (Erasure)
8. Girl You Know It’s True (Milli Vanilli)
9. Rush Rush (Paula Abdul)
10. Daniel (Elton John)
11. Evil Woman (ELO)
12. Life in a Northern Town (The Dream Academy)
13. Human Nature (Michael Jackson)


Pre-order Sexton Blake Plays the Hits:

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Author: James McQuiston

Ph.D. in Political Science, Kent State University. I have been the editor at NeuFutur / since I was 15. Looking for new staff members all the time; email me if you are interested. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *