2007.07.14 Top Ten List (JMcQ)

10. Jack Penate – Torn on the Platform
09. The Killers – Read My Mind
08. Green Jello – Three Little Pigs
07. Fergie – Mary Jane Shoes
06. They Might Be Giants – The Mesopotamians
05. Goo Goo Dolls – It’s Over
04. Kate Nash – Foundations
03. The White Stripes – Icky Thump
02. Timbaland Ft Nephew – The Way I Are
01. Bishop – U Know U Ghetto

Coby Brown – Time Is Now

Coby Brown – Time Is Now / 2007 Self / 4 Tracks / http://www.cobybrown.com /

Coby Brown and the 11:11s play a brand of pop rock that is comparable to the work of a Coldplay, Keane, or Artic Monkeys. That means that the music that is on “Time Is Now” is inoffensive, does not experiment in the slightest, and relies on the paths that previous individuals have traveled. The tracks go back quickly owing to this inoffensive sound; “Ballerina In A Bullfight” is another example of this. Coby Brown’s vocals on “Time is Now” are soft and silken; I can completely see where eir could be compared to a Morrissey meets John Maher type of person. Continue reading “Coby Brown – Time Is Now”

Our Lady Peace – A Decade

Our Lady Peace – A Decade / 2006 Columbia / 18 Tracks / http://www.ourladypeace.com / http://www.columbiarecords.com /

Our Lady Peace is yet another Canadian act that was big in America for a song or two, but reached massive levels of success for years (almost a decade) in their own home country. I still remember when I first was introduced to Our Lady Peace. It was a year or so before “Clumsy” first came out, and it was a video for the first track on the disc, “Starseed”. I absolutely hated the song at the time, as it was seriously overplayed by Muchmusic. Anyways, this is a greatest hits album with two tracks that individuals may not have heard in the past; “Kiss On The Mouth” and “Better Than Here”. Continue reading “Our Lady Peace – A Decade”

The Spares – Beautiful and Treacherous Thing

The Spares – Beautiful and Treacherous Thing / 2007 Tweed / 12 Tracks / http://www.thespares.net / http://www.tweedrecords.com/

The Spares blend together alternative music with a brand of bluegrass-influenced country music that is first heard on “Waiting For The Smoke To Clear”. The vocals will remind listeners of a young Allison Krauss, while the guitars present during the track vary between the to styles. Regardless, what is being sang is something that individuals can easily appreciate. While there is not a high amount of energy to the track (the vocals are much more meandering than anything), this is perfect as an opening for the disc. Continue reading “The Spares – Beautiful and Treacherous Thing”

Maylene and the Sons of Disaster Premiere Video

Maylene and the Sons of Disaster Premiere “DRY THE RIVER”, their new video, on MTV2 this Saturday.

        Hard-hitting Birmingham, AL band MAYLENE and the SONS of DISASTER‘s video for the song “Dry the River” will make its MTV2 premiere this Saturday as part of the network’s “Headbangers Ball” program.  Still shots from the much-talked-about video have been posted online at this location. Continue reading “Maylene and the Sons of Disaster Premiere Video”

Stray Cats Tour With Pretenders and ZZ Top

Los Angeles, CA: Stray Cats announced that they will soon be on the road beginning a U.S. Summer tour in support of their upcoming live CD and DVD “Best Of The Stray Cats Live,” “Rumble In Brixton.” Release date is set for this fall and will feature one new track from the legendary Rockabilly band. Continue reading “Stray Cats Tour With Pretenders and ZZ Top”

The Horrors – Strange House

The Horrors – Strange House / 2007 Stolen Transmission / 11 Tracks / http://www.myspace.com/thehorrors / http://www.stolentransmission.com /

The Horrors have been making some waves in the indie music scene in the last few months. The first track on “Strange House” is “Jack The Ripper”, and it shows that The Horrors are trying to recall an earlier period in rock music. A great deal of their music comes from the loud and boisterous rock of the seventies, even as there is a current sound to keep individuals interested. “Count In fives” is the second track up, and it shows that the band likes their punk rock just the same. In fact, it is not only a punk style that they push forth with this track, but rather a later, almost Siouxsie and the Banshees meets The Cure style. Continue reading “The Horrors – Strange House”

Pos-Neg – I’m A Problem

Pos-Neg – I’m A Problem / 2007 Self / 3 Tracks / http://www.pos-neg.com / http://www.southbronx.com /

Pos-Neg is a rap act, and the flow that is present on the single “I’m A Problem” is similar to the earlier DMX flows. The backing beat to the track is a little bit on the tinny side, which does not necessarily mesh well with the higher registers of the individuals on the track. The flows present are strong, though, which is enough to make the track succeed on their own. Couple that with an catchy chorus, and Pos-Neg’s “I’m A Problem” is better than a greater segment of the rap songs currently on the market. This single features the radio and TV versions of this track along with the studio version. Continue reading “Pos-Neg – I’m A Problem”

Chimaira – Resurrection

Chimaira – Resurrection / 2007 Ferret / 11 Tracks / http://www.chimaira.com / http://www.ferretstyle.com

Chimaira has been rocking the faces off of their fans for quite a few years, first on Roadrunner and now on Ferret Music. It seems as if Ferret really has made their average band much more hard and heavy than they have been in years past, and this is a good sign for the label. Chimaira start off this album with the title track to the disc, and while the song is not anything but heavy, it sets the stage nicely. What is perhaps the best thing about Chimaira is their ability to insert harmony into what is a heavy track. Continue reading “Chimaira – Resurrection”