FRICTION To Release Debut LP from BARS OF GOLD

Friction Records is pleased to announce that on August 24th, 2010, it will release Of Gold, the debut 12″ from Bars Of Gold.

Featuring former Bear Vs Shark front man Marc Paffi, as well as original BvS drummer Brandon Moss and members of instrumental noise outfit Wildcatting, Bars Of Gold’s overall sound doesn’t fall far from its punk roots. Still, the Michigan five piece manages to branch out into wonderfully uncharted territories, embracing elements of pulsing soul, dirty garage rock and dusty americana.

Regarding a recent Bars Of Gold performance, Detroit’s Metro Times proclaimed, “If Fugazi had David Yow as a front man, but played like they lived off a steady diet of funk and MC5 records they’d sound a lot like this. Wow.”

That’s not a statement to be taken lightly, but then again, neither is Of Gold, which is all at once explosive, contemplative, unpredictable, smooth-yet-caustic and, perhaps just as importantly, downright fun. Limited to a pressing of 500 on opaque orange and translucent green vinyl, this brilliant 12″ features artwork by Paffi and will come with a free download code for all the songs. Pre-orders are scheduled to start at the beginning of August. More details forthcoming, but for now you can grab the album’s first single, “The Hustle,” from iTunes.

The band is currently streaming “The Hustle” and two other new songs on its myspace page as well.

Undoubtedly one of 2010’s most anticipated releases, Of Gold is reckless abandon and creative inspiration wrapped in bouncy, pop-tinged bursts of sonic goodness. It’s fist pumping energy tossed against hip-shaking grooves, tempered by warmly rustic passages and wide open spaces. You won’t just hear these songs in your head – you’ll feel them in the pit of your stomach as the chaotic rumble gives way to a creaky banjo or whirling synths. These are gritty rock anthems for adults; a welcome, rollicking respite from juvenile themes and uninspired songwriting. Don’t miss out on this one, folks.


01. Boss Level
02. Heaven Has A Heater
03. Birds
04. The Hustle
05. ……….
06. Doctors & Lawyers
07. Up, Up, Up
08. Cannibals

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Author: James McQuiston

Ph.D. in Political Science, Kent State University. I have been the editor at NeuFutur / since I was 15. Looking for new staff members all the time; email me if you are interested. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *