LA’s ALSO releases “Music Belongs In The Background”

In many ways, the guys from ALSO are an anti-rock band. Drew Conrad, Scotland Stephenson, and Mark Zelen are all self-proclaimed neat freaks with families and day jobs. They don’t have tattoos. They don’t do drugs. They take naps.

What is rock and roll about ALSO is their music. As a team, the three work together to create songwriting craftsmanship that is as fine as it gets. Each band member is a life-long musician with a long history of musical accomplishments and individual technical skill. Conrad grew up in L.A. and has been fronting bands since age 11. His first gig was a set of Black Sabbath covers at a Catholic school. Zelen has been playing guitar and bass since his teens and has played in opening acts for bands such as Nirvana, The Violent Femmes, and Green Day. Stephenson grew up in the indie music haven of Athens, Georgia where he played his first capacity crowd show at the age of 17 at the recently lost Georgia Theatre.

ALSO started their life as a band in 2003 when they self-recorded their first release, Morning. Since then, they have produced two full-length studio albums, It Was Fine to Be Kind, and the February 2011 upcoming release, Music Belongs in the Background.

Music Belongs in the Background took nearly three-years in the making and was quite a labor of love. With the help of gifted producer Warren Riker (3 Grammy awards; The Fugees, Lauryn Hill, Santana), the album boasts huge soundscapes. Dark and ethereal at times and wall-of-sound rock and roll at others, the album exhibits fine musicianship and artful technicality. The team-style songwriting of the band is evident and the music ranges a broad array of influences. Conrad’s lyrics are not for the feint-hearted. He takes on commanding subject matter and sings powerfully. The rhythm section of Stephenson and Zelen is tight and driving. The album is broad stylistically and emotionally, but maintains a consistent feel throughout that is very much Also’s own sound. Music Belongs in the Background is a fine work of art by a group of three talented and tenacious people.

Artist – ALSO
Album- Music Belongs In The Background
US Release Date – Febuary 22, 2011
Label – s/r


01. I Love You
02. So Long
03. Call It Funny
04. By Now You Should Know
05. True
06. Music Belongs in the Background
07. Wilshire Blvd.
08. Aim High
09. Mayfly
10. Unloaded
11. Frost

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Author: James McQuiston

Ph.D. in Political Science, Kent State University. I have been the editor at NeuFutur / since I was 15. Looking for new staff members all the time; email me if you are interested. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *