Omar Souleyman to release first studio album ‘Wenu Wenu’ on Oct 22nd via Ribbon Music

Omar Souleyman – the Syrian artist who not only changed the vibe of weddings throughout the Middle East with his Shaabi street sound but also brought it to the West through his notorious late night festival slots – has finally recorded his first studio album.

Following a series of three compilations and a live release, Wenu Wenu is due for release on October 22nd via Ribbon Music. Produced by long-time admirer Kieran Hebden (of Four Tet), Wenu Wenu combines aspects of Middle Eastern dabke dance music and traditional songs with his own contemporary style. Often described as “Syrian techno”, Souleyman records and performs live with long-time collaborator Rizan Sa’id. Recorded primarily live in the studio, Wenu Wenu distils Omar’s enthralling live performances into a fury of ascending and descending techno scales punctuated by his iconic voice.

Citing Hebden and Bjork as fans, Souleyman’s audience has expanded globally, no longer just appealing to those interested in Middle Eastern music and tradition. His festival performances, including an appearance at this year’s Primavera Sound in Spain, have garnered critical, popular and cross-cultural appreciation for his well-crafted, hectic and, at times, intense musical offerings. Wenu Wenu will be available on LP, CD, digitally and cassette, the latter of course being Souleyman’s most popular worldwide format to date.

1. Wenu Wenu
2. Ya Yumma
3. Nahy
4. Khattaba
5. Warni Warni
6. Mawal Jamar
7. Yagbuni

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Author: James McQuiston

Ph.D. in Political Science, Kent State University. I have been the editor at NeuFutur / since I was 15. Looking for new staff members all the time; email me if you are interested. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *