Turbo’s albums – One Way and Awatar – to be re-issued soon!

Turbo – the legend of Polish hard & heavy scene. Metal Mind Productions presents re-releases of two of the band’s albums – “One Way” and “Awatar”.

“One Way”, the band’s 8th studio album from 1992. Heavier, more brutal and modern than the their previous offerings. It was definetely not a sign of being artistically lost, as some of their fans thought. At that time Grzegorz Hoffmann was the only original member of Turbo so people did tend to exclude this album from Turbo’s discography.

“Awatar”, the band’s 9th studio album from 2001 was their first effort after 10 years of silence. On the one hand it showed the constant search for inspiration in newer sounds, while on the other it was a bridge joining the contemporary Turbo with its „classic“ incarnation from the 80’s. The album proved to be much more mature and modern – especially with reference to its sound. „Awatar“ featured a new drummer, Mariusz Bobkowski. The new edition includes 7 bonus tracks.

Both albums will be re-issued in a new digipak edition, each limited to 2000 copies. Digitally remastered using 24-Bit process, released on a golden disc. The release date is set for 6th October in USA (via MVD).

“One Way” (remastered)

Label: Metal Mind Records
Cat. No.: MMP CD 0631 DG
Barcode: 5907785033108
Format: CD Digipak (limited edition of 2000 numbered copies)
Genre: heavy metal
Release date: 06.10.2009 USA


1. Introduction
2. End user
3. Reagression
4. Mental alienation
5. Blasphemy
6. Refuse to live
7. One Way
8. Forgetfulness
9. The Viper
10. Scum
11. Disaster area

“Awatar” (remastered + bonus tracks)

Label: Metal Mind Records
Cat. No.: MMP CD 0632 DG
Barcode: 5907785033115
Format: CD Digipak (limited edition of 2000 numbered copies)
Genre: heavy metal
Release date: 06.10.2009 USA


1. Armia
2. Upiór w operze
3. Sen
4. Granica
5. Lsd
6. Katatonia
7. Awatar
8. Embrion
9. Fałsz

Bonus tracks:
10. Burn
11. Lęk
12. When A Blind Cries
13. Neon Knights
14. Lęk
15. Bramy Galaktyk (live)
16. Dream

The band was founded in 1980 in PoznaÅ„. The first line-up consisted of Henryk Tomczak (bass), Wojciech Hoffmann (guitar), Wojciech AnioÅ‚a (drums) and Wojciech Sowula (vocals). After some line-up changes the first steady line-up was formed: with Hoffmann and AnioÅ‚a accompanied by Piotr Przybylski on bass, guitars Andrzej Łysów and vocalist Grzegorz Kupczyk. In 1982 they recorded their debut album “DorosÅ‚e Dzieci” (Adult Children). The record was very well received and sold exceptionally well, and the title track is to this day perceived as one of the most important songs in Polish rock music.
In 1983 Bogusz Rutkiewicz (bass) joined the band. They recorded their second album “Smak ciszy”, but despite a very good reception they weren’t really satisfied with that record. They decided to make something very different on their next album. That’s how “Kawaleria Szatana” was conceived – the band’s most famous offering. Released in 1986, it was undoubtedly a breakthrough release for the band. Very fast and aggressive, it soon became very successful. Thanks to excellent guitar parts and Kupczyk’s vocals the band was sometimes called Polish Iron Maiden. The same year they appeared at Metalmania, giving an enthusiastically received gig. Year later Tomek Goehs, the new drummer, joined the band. They played numerous shows all around Poland and recorded a new album “Ostatni Wojownik” (also released in English version as “Last Warrior”). It was as successful as “Kawaleria Szatana” and quickly became one of canon records of Polish heavy metal. Year 1989 saw the release of “A Live!” album, as well as significant line-up changes. Bogusz Rutkiewicz left the band and was replaced by Litza from Acid Drinkers. In this line-up Turbo recorded their next album “Epidemie” (released as “Epidemic” on foreign markets). The band celebrated their 10th anniversary in 1990 at Metalmania festival. Shortly after Kupczyk and Łysów left the band. In 1991 they supported Sepultura gigs in Poland. Turbo’s next album was recorded by Hoffmann, Goehs, Litza and T. Olszewski. “Dead End”, the heaviest material in Poland and that time, maintained in thrash metal style, was soon announced the last album of the band, as Hoffmann decided to dissolve the band. Sometime later “One Way” was released, but the only original member of Turbo was Hoffmann, so people tend to exclude this album from Turbo’s discography. For a few years the musicians worked on their solo projects or played in different bands. They got back together in 1995, playing a gig in PoznaÅ„, their hometown. In 1996 they officially announced their comeback, with Kupczyk, Hoffmann, Rutkiewicz and new members: Marcin BiaÅ‚ożyk on guitar and Szymon Ziomkowski on drums. In 1999 the band was invited to play at Metalmania again, they also performed at Thrash’em All Festival. In 2000 Mariusz Bobkowski took over the drums in Turbo. Next year “Awatar” was released. It was a huge shock for the fans, who expected old school heavy metal in the vein of “Kawaleria Szatana”. The new album was controversial – very modern and very different from everything that Turbo had done before. Soon after the release Tomasz Krzyżaniak became a new drummer and the band was joined by Domnik Jokiel, a guitar player also known from Aion.
In 2004 the new period in their history started. The band set to work on their new album. “Tożsamość” was released both in Polish and English version (as “Identity”). It was a triumphant comeback of the legend of Polish metal scene. The album was promoted at Metalmania festival (among others), where the band proved they were still the top of the scene and that they well deserve to share the title of Great Trinity of Polish heavy metal with KAT and TSA.

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *