Posted on: February 26, 2013 Posted by: James McQuiston Comments: 0

Sensory Records this week confirms the upcoming release of A Fair Dream Gone Mad, the sprawling debut full-length from Sacramento, California-based dark/progressive quartet, IN THE SILENCE.


Founded in 2007 by guitarist/vocalist Josh Burke, the talented crew of musicians forming IN THE SILENCE had an instantaneous chemistry, which saw the outfit playing area shows almost immediately. Musically comparable to the emotional output of Katatonia, Porcupine Tree and Opeth but boasting a more progressive nature than said acts, IN THE SILENCE surges with incredibly moving riffs and otherworldly atmospheres, boasting a huge mid-tone clean vocal performance atop a thunderous display of technical metal percussion.


After tracking several demo songs, the band settled into hometown Fat Cat Recording Studios and recorded their debut album A Fair Dream Gone Mad with producer Jack “Jay” Trammell. The record’s forty-five minute lifespan possesses massive, pristine production, even further magnifying IN THE SILENCE’s skilled approach. The band released the album themselves, and when the initial run of 120 digitpaks sold out right away, the issued a 300-run eco-sleeves pressing. The album immediately reached journalists at popular metal webzines worldwide, including who called it, “A startlingly mature album that belies the band’s relative inexperience and fresh-face… certainly one of the more alluring dark/atmospheric albums to hit in 2012,” and, issuing in part, “…nothing short of remarkable. The beautiful yet haunting atmosphere, intricate songwriting and talented musicianship displayed throughout this album will leave you spellbound. This may well just be one of the best debut albums of the year. A must for all fans of progressive metal.”


Sensory Records, a division of progressive linchpin The Laser’s Edge, will give A Fair Dream Gone Mad the proper distribution and attention it deserves, having penned a striking digipak version of the album, as well as high-quality digital download, for official worldwide release on April 9th, 2013.



IN THE SILENCE also recently signed with Intromental Management who will be breaking them out on tours and festival appearances throughout North America in 2013. Already confirmed is a performance at the massive annual ProgPower USA XIV festival in Atlanta, Georgia, where they’ll share the stage with Circle II Circle, Rhapsody, Wolverine, Soilwork, Shadow Gallery, Wolf, Circus Maximus, Armored Saint and more. Stay tuned for additional imminent tour plans to be announced in the coming days.


Review copies of A Fair Dream Gone Mad and interviews with IN THE SILENCE are available now. In North America contact [email protected].



Josh Burke: vocals, lead, rhythm and acoustic guitars

Nate Higgins: lead and rhythm guitars

Dennis Davis: bass

Niko Panagopoulos: drums


A Fair Dream Gone Mad Track Listing:

1. Ever Closer

2. 17 Shades

3. Serenity

4. Beneath These Falling Leaves

5. Close to Me

6. Endless Sea

7. All the Pieces

8. Your Reward

Leave a Comment