Posted on: July 15, 2014 Posted by: James McQuiston Comments: 0

The 69 Cats are 69 Eyes vocalist Jyrki69 with Head Cat axeman Danny B. Harvey, former Cramps bassist Scott “Chopper” Franklin and Blondie’s iconic drummer, Clem Burke.  The band played The Viper Room in Los Angeles in October of 2013 prior to releasing an EP, but the commitment to a full-length, lucky 13-song album came later.  “Jyrki and I spent weeks trading songs back and forth on Spotify to come up with a track list we both agreed on,” said Harvey.  “We got Clem, whom I’ve played in various bands with since 1983, to record drums and Chopper, who has been one of my favorite bass players. “ The band, in its full form, played at SXSW this year, and will be confirming new dates later this year.

The Queen of Rockabilly, Wanda Jackson, is a special guest on an unforgettable version of Elvis Presley’s “She’s Not You” with lounge darling Lynda Kay Parker on background vocals.  Harvey was able to reunite The Devil’s Daughters (Mysti Moon and Lisa Dahl) to provide vocal support on several tracks including a unique cover of Duran Duran’s “Girls on Film.”  Other songs include a groovy take on Warren Zevon’s “Werewolves of London” and a reverent retro homage to Del Shannon’s “Runaway.” Harvey composed two vibey 6-string features that can only be described as “horror surf.“

The album was produced by Danny B. Harvey and recorded cross-continentally in Helsinki Finland with Johnny Lee Michaels, Encino CA with Tom Dietrick, and Austin TX with Mark Younger Smith mixing.


  1. People Are Strange
  2. Sunglasses After Dark
  3. She’s Not You featuring Wanda Jackson
  4. Runaway
  5. Sweet Transvestite featuring The Devil’s Daughters
  6. Edge Of Reality
  7. Necromance For Guitar
  8. You’re My Baby
  9. Werewolves Of London
  10. Black Cadillac
  11. Girls On Film
  12. 69 Guitars
  13. Bela Lugosi’s Dead


The 69 Cat’s TRANSYLVANIAN TAPES is out August 5, 2014, in stores and online via Cleopatra Records.

Pre-order the CD on Amazon:

Leave a Comment