Posted on: August 25, 2015 Posted by: James McQuiston Comments: 0
 The second track to be unveiled from his third longplayer Pagodes (scheduled for release on 2nd October 2015 via If Music Records – a newly established record label by the acclaimed Soho-based independent record shop of the same name) “It’s ultimately about seizing the moment, listening to your heart, removing yourself from negative influence, immersing yourself in love, and finding clarity,” explains Jono. “But also acknowledging the idea that clarity is not something you just flat out achieve or possess, you just get closer to it sometimes.”

In case you missed it:

Jono McCleery’s ever growing fanbase will be thrilled to hear that the Rotterdam-based singer songwriter has produced his definitive album. Pagodes is the deepest, most powerful work to date by a musician whose work has been described as like “Miles Davis, Massive Attack, John Martyn, Fink, and Radiohead wrapped up in one exquisitely produced sound.”


Born deaf, McCleery only became able to hear at age 5. He picked up the guitar as an eighteen year-old, honing his craft on the London live circuit and touring with the One Taste Collective alongside the likes of Little Dragon, Jamie Woon, Nick Mulvey, Portico (Quartet) and Kate Tempest. Along the way he picked up a small of army evangelical fans, including luminaries such as Tom Robinson and Vashti Bunyan, who led the charge to crowdfund his debut album Darkest Light.

His second album There Is, released in 2011, began his association with Counter Records, and brought him widespread critical acclaim. New album Pagodes is a collaborative release with legendary London record store If Music, who recently released two of the finest compilations of quality musical eclecticism of the last half decade.

Several years of hard work making Pagodes has paid off in spades. It’s an album that’s difficult to turn away from, full of beautiful melody, futuristic production flourishes and lyrics that don’t shy away from darkness, but always alight on uplifting conclusion.

Opener ‘This Idea of Us’ is a smouldering torch ballad, its string arrangement lending it gripping drama. Robert Wyatt’s ‘Age of Self’ comes off as a song McCleery was born to sing, its lyrical content as relevant today as it was 30 years ago. The album moves into infectious percussive swing and melodic loops with ‘Ballade,’ a song that could have come from the LA-jazz hotbed surrounding Flying Lotus.

Pagodes marries all of this thrilling diversity via McCleery’s existential musings and his startling voice and playing. It’s unlikely you’ll hear an album of such power from another singer songwriter anytime soon.

Jono McCleery Pagodes Tracklist:
1. This Idea Of Us
2. Age Of Self
3. Since I
4. Painted Blue
5. Ballade
6. Clarity
7. Halfway
8. Bet She Does
9. Fire In My Hands
10. Desperate Measure
11. Pardon Me
12. So Long

Leave a Comment