Posted on: June 15, 2010 Posted by: AAA Comments: 0

Celebrated, Los Angeles, CA Rock ‘N’ Roll band NIGHT HORSE has completed work on its sophomore album. Titled Perdition Hymns, the record will see an August 3, 2010 release date via NYC’s Tee Pee Records.

Recorded in East LA at Infrasonic Sound (Beck, The Mars Volta, No Age), NIGHT HORSE’s Perdition Hymns is an album made by fans of rock, for fans of rock! Produced and mixed by Matt Bayles (Mastodon, Pearl Jam, ISIS), the record is a classic for current times, made up of all the peaks and valleys, textures and nuances that timeless records yield over repeated listens. Songs like “Choose Your Side” and “Shake Your Blues” demonstrate guitarists Justin Maranga (Ancestors) and Greg Buensuceso’s flair for intricately weaving guitar leads and rhythmic patterns, much like their classic predecessors Thin Lizzy or The MC5 did, while vocalist Sam James Velde (ex-Bluebird) invokes the ghosts of every classic rock singer you’ve ever loved by flat-out refusing to hold anything back; the singer teeters on the edge of total abandon while the band pushes him closer to the brink.

“Writing and recording Perdition Hymns was an amazing experience,” says Velde in a statement. “The collaborative effort and the productivity we all showed were intense, but fun. Everyone was so focused and enthusiastic. The songs just came to us so quickly. We’d start with a riff, then POW it was on! Same went for writing the lyrics. I’d get a few words or ideas stuck in my head and then the melody was just there. It was magical, really.”

The track listing for NIGHT HORSE’s Perdition Hymns is as follows:

1.) Confess to Me
2.) Angel Eyes
3.) Rollin’ On
4.) Good Bye Gone
5.) Black Clouds
6.) Come Down Halo
7.) Blizzard of Oblivion
8.) Hard to Bear
9.) Shake Your Blues
10.) Choose Your Side
11.) Same Old Blues

In celebration of Perdition Hymns’ impending release, NIGHT HORSE will offer fans a free digital EP (via Topspin). Beginning June 15, the Sympathy Ain’t Free EP – consisting of the new NIGHT HORSE tracks “Rollin’ On” (from Perdition Hymns), “Sympathy Ain’t Free” and “Black Clouds” (acoustic) — will be available for free download at

“Recording the B-Sides for “Sympathy Ain’t Free” seemed so laid back in comparison to the energy we had during the “Perdition Hymns” sessions,” Velde offered. “We wrote the title track ‘Sympathy Ain’t Free’ just a day or so before we recorded it. I wrote the vocal melody and lyrics the night before the session. But in true Night Horse fashion, it all flowed very organically.”

Formed in 2008, NIGHT HORSE have caught the ears and eyes of critics and fans alike with their unique ability to blend “the greater aspects of rock music with a much needed breath of contemporary fresh air.” NIGHT HORSE has been described as “If Sonic Youth had been immersed in an ocean of Allman Brothers inspiration, or if Soundgarden had been steeped in late 60s Fleetwood Mac”. The LA Weekly noted that the quintet “has earned its stripes hewing dangerously heavy rock and roll from the purest of influences: the Allman Brothers, Sir Lord Baltimore, and Alice Cooper to name the most evident.” NIGHT HORSE was one of the featured acts at the 2010 Roadburn Festival in Tilburg, Holland where it shared the stage with friends and peers such as Ancestors, Black Math Horsemen, Brant Bjork and more.

In addition to Velde, Maranga and Buensuceso, NIGHT HORSE features Nick D’Itri (bass) and Jamie Miller (drums).

NIGHT HORSE is available to speak with interested media now.

Leave a Comment