Posted on: October 5, 2015 Posted by: James McQuiston Comments: 1

Dressy Bessy will make their Yep Roc Records label debut with the release of KINGSIZED, their first studio album in seven years. Slated for February 5, 2016 release, the album is now available for pre-order with an instant download of “Pop Phenom,” which is available to share/listen below.

Recorded in their home studio, the 13-track set features Tammy Ealom (vocals/guitar), John Hill (guitar), Craig Gilbert (drums), and Marcus Renninger (bass). The melodically infectious, lyrically barbed new tunes such as “Lady Liberty,” “Make Mine Violet” and the anthemic title track showcase the band’s uncanny ability to wrap.Ealom’s personally charged, pointedly subversive lyrics in sparkling, irresistibly catchy songcraft.

“All of my songs come out of some sort of personal turmoil, or they’re me getting back at someone or something,” Ealom reveals. “I feel like we’re just starting to get good at what we do. We’ve had a lot of time to hone in our sound, knowing what we want to sound like and figuring out what we need to do to get that. I’m really excited about the future.”

Formed in 1996, Dressy Bessy have released numerous singles, had tracks featured on various compilations and recorded six studio albums, including Pink Hearts, Yellow Moons (1999), California EP (2000), SoundGoRound (2002), Dressy Bessy (2003), Electrified (2005), and Holler and Stomp (2008).


  1.     Lady Liberty  – R.E.M’s Peter Buck (12-string guitar), The Minders/Wild Flag’s Rebecca Cole (backing vocals)
  2.     Get Along (Diamond Ring) – Pylon frontwoman Vanessa Briscoe-Hay (backing vocals)
  3.     These Modern Guns – Polyphonic Spree/The Deathray Davies’ Jason Garner (bass)
  4.     Pop Phenom – The Apples In Stereo’s Eric Allen (bass)
  5.     KINGSIZED – The Minus 5/Split Squad’s Michael Giblin (bass)
  6.     Cup ‘O Bang Bang – R.E.M.’s Peter Buck (12-string guitar), The Apples In Stereo’s Eric Allen (bass)
  7.     Giddy Up
  8.     Honey Bee – The Dictators’ Andy Shernoff (bass)
  9.     Make Mine Violet – Young Fresh Fellows/The Minus 5’s Scott McCaughey (piano), The Minders/Wild Flag’s Rebecca Cole (backing vocals)
  10.  57 Disco – Young Fresh Fellows/The Minus 5’s Scott McCaughey (farfisa)
  11.  Dirty Birdies
  12.  Say Goodbye
  13.  In Particular

Dressy Bessy Kingsized NeuFutur

Dressy Bessy Kingsized

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email
Visit Us
Follow Me

1 people reacted on this

Leave a Comment