“The Diary of an American Witchdoctor” Marks Witchdoctor’s First Album

On October 23rd, Witchdoctor and Adult Swim’s William Street celebrate the CD release of “The Diary of an American Witchdoctor”, the spiritual rapper’s prolific collection of songs ranging from street life to the greatness of God. Witchdoctor, also known as Erin Johnson, is a first generation member of Atlanta’s legendary Dungeon Family collective that includes hip hop powerhouses like Goodie Mob, OutKast and Killer Mike among others. He entered the rap game in 1997 with the release of his first album, A S.W.A.T. Healin’ Ritual, and has since released four independent albums and a book of poetry.“Diary of an American Witchdoctor” is a culmination of Witchdoctor’s career and proves why, after more than 10 years in the industry, the doctor has become almost synonymous with the sound of Atlanta. Live instrumentation, the secret ingredient to Down South funk and a calling card of the Dungeon Family, is one of the key ingredients to the album, which boasts a wide array of sounds ranging from the spiritual cry of “God is Good” to the harrowing future funk of “The Barrel” and the drug explorations of “Jake Ya Got A Body.”

The full track listing for Witchdoctor’s “Diary of an American Witchdoctor” album is:

1. God is Good
2. Just Like You
3. Suicide Bomber
4. Put a Spell on Them Hoes
5. Treasure Chest
6. Cream of Da Crop
7. Prayer Call (Interlude)
8. The Barrell
9. Part of Your Brain (featuring Khujo Goodie)
10. Best Year
11. Semi-Automatic
12. Dezonly1 Part 2
13. Oxygen
14. Are You Happy There?
15. Jake Got Ya Body
16. King of the Beasts
17. Wonderful God
18. Mercy

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Author: James McQuiston

Ph.D. in Political Science, Kent State University. I have been the editor at NeuFutur / neufutur.com since I was 15. Looking for new staff members all the time; email me if you are interested. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *