ELP’s Works Volume 1 & 2 Released

In Stores January 22

Los Angeles, CA – Shout! Factory will further its reissue campaign of progressive rock’s most prolific group with the release of Emerson Lake & Palmer’s Works Volume 1 and Works Volume. 2, both originally released in 1977.

The two-disc set Works Volume 1 is a showcase for the talents of each individual member of the band. Originally considering each submitting a solo album of their own, one side of Works Volume 1 is comprised of Keith Emerson and Greg Lake’s solo offerings, while the second side contains Carl Palmer’s contribution and finds the trio reconvening for the final two tracks, “Fanfare For The Common Man” and “Pirates,” two classic examples of ELP’s singular sound and influence.

A stellar collection of outtakes and assorted singles the band had amassed during their recording prime; Works Volume 2 reveals many new and different sides of ELP’s vast influences, with traces of boogie-woogie and ragtime surfacing for the first time. The album consists of five instrumentals, highlighted by two short prog-rock songs written by Peter Sinfield, including “Brain Salad Surgery,” originally intended as the title track to the album of the same name, and “I Believe In Father Christmas.”

Each album in the Shout! Factory Emerson Lake & Palmer Remasters series has been remastered from the analog tapes using the highest sonic technology available. The other ELP releases now available on Shout! Factory include a comprehensive two-disc anthology titled The Essential Emerson Lake & Palmer, as well as Emerson Lake & Palmer, Tarkus, Pictures at an Exhibition, Trilogy, Welcome Back My Friends To The Show That Never Ends, and Brain Salad Surgery.

Shout! Factory is a diversified entertainment company devoted to producing, uncovering and revitalizing the very best of pop culture. Founders Richard Foos, Bob Emmer and Garson Foos have spent their careers sharing their music, television and film faves with discerning consumers the world over. Shout! Factory’s DVD offerings serve up classic, contemporary and cult TV series, riveting sports programs, live music, animation and documentaries in lavish packages crammed with extras. The company’s audio catalogue boasts GRAMMY®-nominated boxed sets, new releases from storied artists, lovingly assembled album reissues and indispensable “best of” compilations. These riches are the result of a creative acquisitions mandate that has established the company as a hotbed of cultural preservation and commercial reinvention. Shout! Factory is based in Santa Monica, Calif. For more on Shout! Factory, visit www.shoutfactory.com.

Emerson Lake & Palmer Works Volume 1

Distributed by Sony BMG

Selection Number: 826663-10785

Release Date: January 22, 2008

Suggested List Price: $24.98

Disc One Track Listing:

Keith Emerson

1. Piano Concerto No. 1

a) First Movement: Allegro Giojoso 9:21

b) Second Movement: Andante Molto Cantabile 2:09

c) Third Movement: Toccata Con Fuoco 6:48

Greg Lake

2. Lend Your Love To Me Tonight 4:01

3. C’est La Vie 4:16

4. Hallowed Be Thy Name 4:35

5. Nobody Loves You Like I Do 3:56

6. Closer To Believing 5:33

Disc Two Tracklisting:

Carl Palmer

1. The Enemy God Dances With The Black Spirits 3:20

2. L.A. Nights 5:42

3. New Orleans 2:45

4. Two Part Invention In D Minor 1:54

5. Food For Your Soul 3:57

6. Tank 5:08

Emerson, Lake & Palmer

7. Fanfare For The Common Man 9:40

8. Pirates 13:18

Emerson Lake & Palmer Works Volume 2

Distributed by Sony BMG

Selection Number: 826663-10788

Release Date: January 22, 2008

Suggested List Price: $11.98

Track Listing:

1. Tiger In A Spotlight (4:32)

2. When The Apple Blossoms Bloom In The Windmills Of Your Mind I’ll Be Your Valentine (3:56)

3. Bullfrog (3:49)

4. Brain Salad Surgery (3:07)

5. Barrelhouse Shake-Down (3:47)

6. Watching Over You (3:54)

7. So Far To Fall (4:55)

8. Maple Leaf Rag (2:00)

9. I Believe In Father Christmas (3:17)

10. Close But Not Touching (3:18)

11. Honky Tonk Train Blues (3:09)

12. Show Me The Way To Go Home (3:30)

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Author: James McQuiston

Ph.D. in Political Science, Kent State University. I have been the editor at NeuFutur / neufutur.com since I was 15. Looking for new staff members all the time; email me if you are interested. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *