Devotchka’s A Mad And Faithful Telling #1 on Both CMJ Top 200 and AAA Charts

DeVotchKa’s fifth album, A Mad And Faithful Telling, came out last week, and if press and radio are any indication, this is turning out to be their best received release ever.  The Denver quartet holds the coveted #1 spot on both the CMJ Top 200 chart and the CMJ AAA chart, and is receiving rave reviews from across the globe.

 

·          “DeVotchKa’s latest melodious exploration both stymies geographic boundaries and champions dysfunctional underdogs…DeVotchKa has liberated an essential and ethnically diverse album of universal allure.”  –Harp

 

·         “If there’s any justice in the world, A Mad and Faithful Telling will finally yield the adulation this extraordinary band deserves.” -Villiage Voice

 

·          “Nick Urata and the three other members of the band deliver these exultant, extraordinary songs, whose arrangements defy prediction while providing exactly what is called for. Rousing , majestic, they seem to have been here forever, just waiting to be heard.”

5/5 The Observer Music Monthly UK

 

·         “It’s a rare group that can make you wistful while wielding a caravans worth of instruments like a theremin, accordian, and sousaphone.”  -Entertainment Weekly

 

·         “The Denver band still cavort like daffy outsiders on their stirring fifth album, a sultry brew of Gypsy, Mexican, and pop ingredients that’s adorably silly and unexpectedly moving.”  -Spin

 

·         “Fans of the current wave of rock groups playing world music should say hello to their new favourite band…Denver based four piece overflows with inspiration, vision and ambition.” 

                                                                                                                                                4/5 The Times UK

 

·         “A Mad and Faithful Telling continues to deliver DeVotchKa’s expansive, eclectic sound.

                                                                                                                                                                –Filter

·          “This Denver band’s fifth and best album manages to deliver intense and cinematic epics” 

                                                                                                                                                The Independent UK

 

·         “This Denver –based four piece invented the global mongrel shtick…You’ll be hopelessly DeVotchKa’d on the first listen” –NME

 

 

DeVotchKa are currently readying the Mad and Faithful tour, which begins next week in Manchester England.  After nearly three weeks abroad, DeVotchKa will begin the U.S leg of the tour with an appearance at the prestigious Coachella Valley Arts and Music festival, followed by a month of touring across the States.

 

DeVotchKa Mad and Faithful in Europe

Friday, April 4                                    Manchester, UK                      Academy 2

Saturday, April 5                    Dublin, IRE                            Crawdaddy

Sunday, April 6                       Glasgow, SCO                        King Tuts Wah Wah Hut

Monday, April 7                     Newcastle Upon, UK             Academy 2 Newcastle

Tuesday, April 8                     Birmingham, UK                    Academy 2 Birmingham

Wednesday, April 9                London, UK                           Scala

Friday, April 11                      Rotterdam, Hol                       Rotown

Saturday, April 12                  Amsterdam, Hol                     Melkweg

Sunday, April 13                     Paris, FR                                 Café de la Danse

Monday, April 14                   Zurich, SWI                            Abart Music Club

Tuesday, April 15                   Istanbul, TUR                         Garaj Istanbul

Wednesday, April 16              Copenhagen, DEN                  Vega

Thursday, April 17                  Berlin, GER                            Tacheles

Friday, April 18                      Cologne, GER                                    Underground

Saturday, April 19                  Brussels, BEL                         Ancienne Belgique

Sunday, April 20                     Nigmegen, HOL                     Doornroosje

 

Mad and Faithful Tour U.S

Saturday, April 26                  Indio, CA                                Coachella

Monday April 28                    San Francisco, CA                  The Fillmore               

Tuesday April 29                    Eugene, OR                            McDonald Theatre

Wednesday April 30               Portland, OR                           Wonder Ballroom

Friday, May 2                         Vancouver, BC                       Richard on Richards

Saturday May 3                      Seattle, WA                            Showbox Sodo

Sunday, May 4                        Boise, ID                                 The Big Easy

Wednesday May 7                  Minneapolis, MN                    First Avenue

Thursday, May 8                     Milwaukee, WI                       Turner Hall

Friday, May 9                         Chicago, IL                             Vic Theatre

Saturday, May 10                   Indianapolis, IN                      The Vogue

Sunday, May 11                      Nashville, TN                          Mercy Lounge

Tuesday, May 13                    Atlanta, GA                            Variety Playhouse

Wednesday, May 14               Ashville, NC                           Orange Peel

Thursday, May 15                   Richmond, VA                       Toads Place

Friday, May 16                       Washington, DC                     9:30 Club

Saturday, May 17                   Philadelphia, PA                     The Fillmore at TLA

Sunday, May 18                      Boston, MA                            Paradise

Tuesday, May 20                    New York, NY                       Terminal 5

Wednesday, May 21               Pittsburgh, PA                                    Diesel Club Lounge

Thursday, May 22                   Newport, KY                          Southgate House

Friday, May 23                       St. Louis, MO                         The Pageant

Saturday, May 24                   Omaha, NE                             Slowdown

 

Author: James McQuiston

Ph.D. in Political Science, Kent State University. I have been the editor at NeuFutur / neufutur.com since I was 15. Looking for new staff members all the time; email me if you are interested. Thanks!

1 thought on “Devotchka’s A Mad And Faithful Telling #1 on Both CMJ Top 200 and AAA Charts”

  1. This is a wonderful album– I wholeheartedly agree with all of the accolades it is receiving. That’s a pretty extensive tour. I hope they are still ready to rock by the time they get to NYC on May 20. Got my tickets for that show the day they went on sale.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *