Claudine The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack To Be Reissued By Shout! Factory

On June 17, Shout! Factory will reissue the soundtracks to the original motion pictures Claudine and Pipe Dreams on one disc, celebrating both the films and the work of Gladys Knight & The Pips and Curtis Mayfield.


Written and produced by Curtis Mayfield, Claudine, the soundtrack to the original motion picture of the same name, was originally released in 1974 on Buddah Records. Gladys Knight & The Pips had signed to the Buddah label in 1973 after some unsatisfying years at Motown, and had a gold record with Imagination, which boasted three hits including “Midnight Train To Georgia,” “Best Thing That Ever Happened To Me” and “I’ve Got To Use My Imagination.”


Claudine the movie and music score were purposeful artistic missions, with the 1974 film providing a heartwarming antidote to all of the “blaxploitation” flicks of the era. Starring veteran actress Diahann Carroll, who received an Oscar® nomination for her role in the film, Claudine is the story of a struggling single mother of six in Harlem who falls in love with a charming garbage man named “Roop,” portrayed by the legendary James Earl Jones.


The songs on the soundtrack and Gladys’ unique voice made it the perfect instrument to express Claudine’s inner story. The Claudine soundtrack bore two #2 Hot Soul Singles, “On And On,” and the film’s triumphant ending song “Make Yours A Happy Home,” which wasn’t actually released as a single until two years later. “Mr. Welfare Man” reflected Claudine’s frustration with being forced to “cheat” the welfare system. “Hold On” is a wee-hours woman’s blues, revealing Claudine’s inner struggle over clinging to a man she feels is predestined to stray . Meanwhile, the instrumental “Claudine Theme” of flutes, strings, beats and brass is the soundtrack to her daily grind. On “To Be Invisible,” Mayfield’s  brilliant account of author Ralph Ellison’s depiction of the Black man as a victim in America, Gladys sings a musing on what the future holds for Black boys.  “The Makings Of You,” a beautiful and timeless meditation on love and family that Curtis first recorded on his 1970 debut solo LP, Curtis, but that Gladys renders here in equally spellbinding fashion.


Two years later Gladys starred in the film Pipe Dreams with her real-life husband at the time, Barry Hankerson. Pipe Dreams, a love story that took place in Alaska, had a soundtrack that showcased a variety of musical styles for Gladys Knight & The Pips. The one single from the album was the tear-jerking theme and Top 20 Hot Soul hit “So Sad The Song,” written by Gerry Goffin and Michael Masser. Other songs on the Pipe Dreams soundtrack include “Alaskan Pipeline,” written by rhythm and blues vet Ivory Jo Hunter, the scat swing vocal of the piano-punctuated “Pot Of Jazz,” penned by Pip Merald “Bubba” Knight, the inspiring numbers “I’ll Miss You” and “Follow My Dreams”  by the Reverend James Cleveland. Also included are “Nobody But You,” which was written by Barry Mann and Cynthia Weil, and on which then-current hits “Lean On Me,” “You’ve Got A Friend” and “Bridge Over Troubled Water” are referenced, and “Pipe Dream,” the main title theme written by Gladys and The Pips producer Tony Camillo, who’d just cowritten their hit “I Feel A Song (In My Heart).”


Shout! Factory is a diversified entertainment company devoted to producing, uncovering and revitalizing the very best of pop culture – The Stuff You Grew Up On But Never Outgrew.  Founders Richard Foos, Bob Emmer and Garson Foos have spent their careers sharing their music, television and film faves with discerning consumers the world over. Shout! Factory’s DVD offerings serve up classic, contemporary and cult TV series, riveting sports programs, live music, animation and documentaries in lavish packages crammed with extras. The company’s audio catalogue boasts Grammy®-nominated boxed sets, new releases from storied artists and lovingly assembled album reissues. These riches are the result of a creative acquisitions mandate that has established the company as a hotbed of cultural preservation and commercial reinvention.  For more on Shout! Factory, visit


Claudine – The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack

Distributed by Sony BMG

Release Date: June 17, 2008

Selection No.: 826663-10901  

Suggested List Price: $13.98

From: Claudine, The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack

1.         Mr. Welfare Man                      

2.         To Be Invisible 

3.         On And On      

4.         The Makings Of You    

5.         Claudine Theme (Instrumental)  

6.         Hold On          

7.         Make Yours A Happy Home

From: Pipe Dreams, The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack         

8.         So Sad The Song* (G. Goffin/M. Masser)          

9.         Alaskan Pipeline** (Ivory Joe Hunter)    

10.        Pot Of Jazz** (M. Knight/D Frontiere)   

11.        I’ll Miss You** (Rev. J. Cleveland)       

12.        Nobody But You** (C. Weil/B. Mann)   

13.        Pipe Dreams** (T. Camillo)      

14. Find A Way** (J. & M. Spikes)        

15. Follow My Dreams** (Rev. J. Cleveland)       

16. So Sad The Song (Instrumental)* (G. Goffin/M. Masser)        

**Produced by Bubba Knight and Dominic Frontiere

**Arranged and Conducted by Dominic Frontiere

*Produced and Arranged by Michael Masser


Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Author: James McQuiston

Ph.D. in Political Science, Kent State University. I have been the editor at NeuFutur / since I was 15. Looking for new staff members all the time; email me if you are interested. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *