Holly Golightly & The Brokeoffs Set To Release “Dirt Don’t Hurt”

Holly Golightly & the Brokeoffs, heralded by NME as “a glorious example of what rock ’n’ roll should be,” have signed with Transdreamer Records (distributed by MRI Distribution/RED) and are preparing their first American release as a band. Titled Dirt Don’t Hurt, the CD is slated for a street date of October 14, 2008. “Band,” however, is a figurative term for Holly and company— Holly Golightly and Lawyer Dave (a.k.a. the Brokeoffs) sing and play guitar, as well as drums, banjo, standup bass and an array of other instruments. It’s just the two of them.

The new, self-produced album was recorded in five days during the middle of a 50-date tour in the town of Gijon on Spain’s northern coast, at an analog studio called Circo Perrotti, which is outfitted with vintage recording gear and dedicated to discerning production values.

Their music is a lo-fi stew of blues, country and rockabilly, at once avant-garde and old-timey. As Playboy.com says, “Golightly’s songs are so fresh and timeless they could have been recorded yesterday or 40 years ago.” Entertainment Weekly called her “a truly appealing tunesmith.” And BarnesAndNoble.com deemed her “ready for her above-ground closeup.”

Holly Golightly kicked off her musical career in Thee Headcoatees, the legendary all-girl garage band, closely affiliated with U.K. cult legend Billy Childish. She spent eight years as a Headcoatee, and during those years released her first solo record, The Good Things, in 1995. She has appeared on multiple collaborative albums, including the title track for the Jim Jarmusch movie “Broken Flowers” with The Greenhornes. Together with Billy Childish, where the two celebrate ‘One Chord, One Sound, One Song’ on the album In Blood. Holly also guested on The White Stripes’ “(Well It’s True That) We Love One Another” from their platinum selling Elephant.

This album is the 19th for Holly Golightly, whose discography is a cacophony of albums (studio and live), EPs, singles and 10-inch LPs and iTunes-only releases. Although many of the recordings are best known to Americans as UK imports, several have been released on labels like Kill Rock Stars, Sympathy for the Record Industry, Box Theory, Super Electro and Flapping Jet.

Lawyer Dave had been playing stand-up bass in Holly’s touring line up for many years, and Dirt Don’t Hurt is testament the countless miles they’ve covered together. The Brokeoffs have an independently released album Rest Stop, which was recorded entirely at rest stops which were closed for construction.

Holly Golightly and the Brokeoffs will embark upon a 50-city U.S. tour starting in New York on October 16 and going until Thanksgiving. The dates are as follows and subject to change:

Thu. Oct. 16 NEW YORK, NY Mercury Lounge

Fri. Oct. 17 WASHINGTON, DC DC9

Sat. Oct. 18 PHILADELPHIA, PA Khyber

Mon. Oct. 20 BOSTON, MA Middle East

Tue. Oct. 21 MONTREAL, QU Café Campus

Wed. Oct 22 TORONTO, ONT Horseshoe Tavern

Thu. Oct. 23 BUFFALO/ROCHESTER, NY Mohawk

Fri. Oct. 24 PITTSBURGH, PA Garfield Artworks

Sat. Oct. 25 CLEVELAND, OH Beachland Tavern

Mon. Oct. 27 NEWPORT, KY Southgate House

Tue. Oct. 28 TOLEDO, OH Frankie’s

Wed. Oct. 29 CHICAGO, IL Subt

Thu. Oct. 30 MINNEAPOLIS, MN 7th St. Entry

Fri. Oct. 31 MADISON, WI Café Montmartre

Sat. Nov. 1 MILWAUKEE, WI Mad Planet

Sun. Nov. 2 KANSAS CITY, MO Record Bar

Mon Nov. 3 LAWRENCE, KS Jackpot Saloon

Tue Nov. 4 DENVER, CO Larimer Lounge

Thu Nov. 6 SALT LAKE CITY, UT Kilby Court

Fri Nov. 7 BOISE, ID Neurolux

Sat Nov. 8 SEATTLE, WA Triple Door

Mon Nov. 10 VANCOUVER, BC Media Club

Tue Nov. 11 PORTLAND, OR Doug Fir

Thu Nov. 13 SAN FRANCISCO, CA Bottom of the Hill

Fri Nov. 14 LOS ANGELES, CA Echo

Sat Nov. 15 SAN DIEGO, CA The Casbah

Tue Nov. 18 TUCSON, AZ Plush

Thu. Nov. 20 AUSTIN, TX Emo’s

Fri Nov. 21 DALLAS, TX The Loft

Sat Nov. 22 HOUSTON, TX Rudyards

Mon Nov. 24 MEMPHIS, TN Hi-Tone

Tue. Nov. 25 NASHVILLE, TN The End

Wed. Nov. 26 ATLANTA, GA EARL

Author: James McQuiston

Ph.D. in Political Science, Kent State University. I have been the editor at NeuFutur / neufutur.com since I was 15. Looking for new staff members all the time; email me if you are interested. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *