Land of Talk signs to Saddle Creek!

Saddle Creek have announced the signing of Montreal trio Land of Talk
in the United States and are set to release their debut full-length,
Some Are Lakes October 7. The album was recorded in Montreal with
Justin Vernon (Bon Iver) and is the follow up to their acclaimed 2006
EP, Applause Cheer Boo Hiss, which found Land Of Talk featured in
publications such as Paste Magazine, and receiving glowing reviews in
SPIN and Pitchfork, who called the EP, “a muscular record of gut-
level riffs and fist-pumping choruses.”

Land of Talk spent the better part of 2006 and early 2007 on the
road, touring throughout North America and Europe with such acts as
The Decemberists, Tapes n’ Tapes and The Rosebuds. Some Are Lakes
continues to showcase vocalist/guitarist Elizabeth Powell’s vocal
convictions which Time Out NY called, “a voice that flits between
come-hither and go-fuck-yourself.” Powell’s voice and roaring guitars
which take center-stage alongside bassist Chris McCarron and drummer
Andrew Barr (The Slip).

Some Are Lakes track listing:
1. Yuppy Flu
2. Death By Fire
3. The Man Who Breaks Things (Dark Shuffle)
4. Some Are Lakes * first single
5. Give Me Back My Heart Attack
6. It’s Okay
7. Young Bridge
8. Corner Phone
9. Got A Call
10. Troubled

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Author: James McQuiston

Ph.D. in Political Science, Kent State University. I have been the editor at NeuFutur / since I was 15. Looking for new staff members all the time; email me if you are interested. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *