Wire Release “Object 47” Today

“The time is right for Wire, right now. Welcome them again, they’ve come back to save you” Charles Inskip, Artrocker [on Read & Burn 03 – 2007]*

In the five years since the release of their last album Send [in May 2003] Wire have expounded, reviewed, contracted, lain dormant, recovered, expanded and through all that have shed an old skin and grown a new one. Wire is not the same as it was before but then Wire is never the same as it was before.

Object 47 [the 47th object in Wire’s discography] is nonetheless only Wire’s 11th studio album. It is the 2nd product of an arc of work began in 2006 which has so far thrown up the rather well received EP, Read And Burn 03 [from which no
tracks appear] and stands as a confident statement of where Wire are in 2008. As ever looking forward! While retaining Wire’s idiosyncratic mix of an avant-garde mindset with classic pop timing this album boasts “tunes with zoom” a unique formula that somehow manages to sound wholly Wire [in a classic sense] and wholly contemporary.


Although Object 47 will not be released until July 7th, the first single, “One Of Us” is now available for download from pinkflag.com A full press campaign is planned in the USA & UK augmented with college radio promotion in the USA. In addition their upcoming show at New York’s South Street Seaport, Wire will be playing festivals throughout Europe this summer and will return to the USA to tour in October.

Object 47 Track Listing

01. “One of Us”
02. “Circumspect”
03. “Mekon Headman”
04. “Perspex Icon”
05. “Four Long Years”
06. “Hard Currency”
07. “Patient Flees”
08. “Are You Ready?”
09. “All Fours

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Author: James McQuiston

Ph.D. in Political Science, Kent State University. I have been the editor at NeuFutur / neufutur.com since I was 15. Looking for new staff members all the time; email me if you are interested. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *