The exclusive double re-release of “Frailty” and “Source” by The Duskfall

The Swedish metal scene is known for many great bands, some of which became true legends of the genre. The Duskfall is yet another fine example of Scandinavian domination – their brutal, yet melodic sound captures all the most prominent features of modern metal music. “Frailty” was the group’s stunning debut, “Source” – their impressive sophomore release. This exclusive double re-release of both of these albums brings back a truly exceptional mixture of thrash, death and power metal!

The band was originally formed in Luleå, Sweden in 1999, under the name Soulash. The founding member was guitarist Mikael Sandorf, known from the legendary, yet short-lived melodic death metal act Gates of Ishtar. The band’s first demo “Deliverance” from 2001 caught the attention of various record labels and eventually the band was signed to Black Lotus Records, where in November 2002, they released their debut album “Frailty”. The LP delivered ten tracks of prime melodic death metal, ranging from ultra-fast killers such as “The Light” and “Agoraphobic” to mid-paced, more melodic tunes like “Age of Errors” and the keyboard-driven “None”. The title track is also worth mentioning, as it featured stunning clean vocals courtesy of Lawrence Mackrory. Soon after “Frailty” hit the stores, The Duskfall started working on their follow-up album. “Source” was released in December 2003, again for Black Lotus Records. Once more, the group managed to deliver a heavy dose of mind-blowing metal, especially with such tracks as “Case Closed”, “Guidance” and the ultra-brutal “Lead Astray”. “Source” was a major success among fans and critics, and it eventually helped the group sign a contract with the acclaimed record label – Nuclear Blast Records – for the release of their third LP – “Lifetime Supply of Guilt”. The Duskfall’s fourth and final album “The Dying Wonders of the World” saw the light of day in 2007. Unfortunately, after the release of that LP founder Mikael Sandorf decided to call it quits and thus, without its leader, The Duskfall ultimately disbanded.

Although Sweden gave birth to numerous metal bands, The Duskfall still remains one of the most memorable acts out there. Their ability to merge the classical approach with modern heaviness brought some truly outstanding material, deeply rooted in the best traditions of melodic death metal. “Frailty” and “Source” – are the perfect recommendation for those who seek a new quality in heavy music and are not afraid to have their minds blown away by this incredible band! The double digipak edition includes bonus tracks and is limited to 2000 copies. Remastered using tube technology, digitally edited on a golden disc. Metal Mind productions set the release date for 11th October in Europe and 7th December in USA (via MVD).

The Duskfall
“Frailty & Source” (remastered + bonus tracks)

Label: Metal Mind Records
Cat. No.: MASS CD 1394 DGD
Barcode: 5907785036314
Format: 2CD Digipak (limited edition of 2000 numbered copies)
Genre: Melodic Death Metal
Release date: 11.10.2010 Europe / 07.12.2010 USA


CD 1 – “Frailty”

1. The Light
2. Age Of Errors
3. Agoraphobic
4. Poison The Waters
5. None
6. Farewell Songs
7. Frailty
8. Tune Of Slaughtered Hearts
9. Just Follow
10. Deliverance

Bonus tracks:
11. Unspoken
12. The Light (Demo)
13. None (Demo)

CD 2 – “Source”

1. Case Closed
2. Striving To Have Nothing
3. The Grand Scheme
4. Source
5. Not A Good Sign
6. Guidance
7. Lead Astray
8. The Destroyer

Bonus tracks:
9. Dawn Skies (Demo)
10. Taking Control (Demo)
11. Tune Of Slaughtered Hearts (Demo)

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Author: James McQuiston

Ph.D. in Political Science, Kent State University. I have been the editor at NeuFutur / since I was 15. Looking for new staff members all the time; email me if you are interested. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *