Scuba’s critically acclaimed album is reworked by Deadbeat, Deadboy, Faulty DL for ‘Triangulation (Interpretations)’ on Hotflush

Scuba, aka Paul Rose, has been at the forefront of the dubstep scene since its birth. Having founded the innovative and influential Hotflush Recordings label in 2003, he has continually brought colour and depth to an advancing genre, expanding its sonic structure and increasing its influence on the wider electronic scene. Through Scuba and seminal work by central figures including Distance, Vex’d and more recently Mount Kimbie and Joy Orbison, Hotflush remains crucial to the immediate moment and the developing future of the most exciting aspects of electronic music. In addition to label and production duties, he also runs the massively successful SUB:STANCE night at Berlin’s techno Mecca, Berghain, the sound of which he committed to plastic in a DJ mix released on Ostgut Ton in January 2010.

Following the first Scuba LP, A Mutual Antipathy (2008) which was remixed by Marcel Dettman, Martyn and Surgeon, Triangulation (2010) took the Scuba sound to a new level. The collision of dubstep and techno has produced startling music from a wide range of producers in the last few years, none more than Scuba, and that has been well documented. But Triangulation moves past the dubstep/techno axis and into new territory. Working at multiple tempos, the album covers an area ranging from house to experimental drum n bass while retaining the Scuba sound that has become so distinctive.

For Triangulation (Interpretations) new allure is breathed into Scuba’s originals. The listless beauty of Before is embued with a spine tingling warmth on Scuba’s luscious opening re-edit, Before (After). A remix of Latch by Will Saul & Mike Monday of Simple Records, Aus Music and Buzzin’ Fly, infuses the dubbed out original with a dose of bumping house flavor. America’s totem of bass Faulty DL takes leave from the original On Deck with a low burring bassline and elegantly woven melodies drawn warmly across the whole. Scuba’s back with the old skool vibes on You Got Me (I Got You) but confidently skips the line by keeping it firmly in this moment. Canadian Deadbeat has showcased his own brand of dub laden electronics for the likes of Wagon Repair, Scape, Spectral , Musique Risque and Cynosure over the past decade, his remix of Tracers sees him in classic form delivering a deep 7am techno heavy hitter. Joe made an immediate impact on the scene with his 12”s on Hessle Audio and Applepips over the past year, his rework of So You Think You’re Special has a slowly blossoming groove underpinning stuttering percussion, jangling keys and an expertly playful melody that opens out across the sparse background. Finally, South London’s Deadboy offers an understated modern jungle remix of Before with skittering hats and heavy bass that can’t fail to light up floors and faces.
– – – – TRACKLIST – – – –

CD 1
01. Descent
02. Latch
03. Three Sided Shape
04. Minerals
05. On Deck
06. Before
07. Tracers
08. You Got Me
09. So You Think You’re Special
10. Heavy Machinery
11. Glance
12. Lights Out

01. Before (After)
02. Latch (Will Saul & Mike Monday Remix)
03. On Deck (FaltyDL Remix)
04. You Got Me (I Got You)
05. Tracers (Deadbeat Remix)
06. So You Think You’re Special (Joe Remix)
07. Before (Deadboy Remix)

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Author: James McQuiston

Ph.D. in Political Science, Kent State University. I have been the editor at NeuFutur / since I was 15. Looking for new staff members all the time; email me if you are interested. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *