The Migrant announce new LP: Share eerily-timed new single “The Hurricane”

When Bjarke Bendtsen set off from his native Denmark on a journey through America with just a guitar and a suitcase, The Migrant was born. A few years later, after one critically acclaimed album – 2010’s Travels in Lowland, a dreamy, earnest, psychedelic pop-folk opus, recorded at a seaside summerhouse during a trip back to Denmark in the summer of 2009 – and following nearly 50 shows across the US with his Austin-based backing band and 25 more in Europe with Danish compatriots, The Migrant returns with its second album, Amerika. Recorded in Fort Worth, TX at the home studio of Theater Fire’s James Talambas (who also co-produced it), Amerika is another beautiful episode in Bendtsen’s ceaseless odyssey.

As Bendtsen and his fellow musical sobriquet implies, The Migrant drifts through various landscapes, painting grand scenic portraiture with Bendtsen’s raw vocals and layers of pop-folk multi-instrumentation. Departing from the airy Danish seaside of Travels in Lowland, Amerika occupies the spare, vast spaces of the American landscape with beautiful, sprawling, acoustic melodies that faintly evoke America’s rich folk heritage. The album is constantly in motion, freely traversing barren guitar solos and harmonized mountains of instrumentation, navigated by Bendtsen’s unmistakeably heartfelt, lyrical styling.

With the new album set for its release this fall, the tireless Bendtsen is already back in the Fort Worth studio with Talambas and Travels in Lowland co-producer Mads Hartmann to record a third album, scheduled for release in 2012. With new material written while settled in Copenhagen, the third album promises to be another ethereal creation of The Migrant’s wanderlust.

Following the debut of Amerika, The Migrant is gearing up for a tour of the US and Canada later this year.

Artist – The Migrant
Album- Amerika
US Release Date – October 25, 2011
Label – S/R

01. Molehills
02. Everywhere Yo Go
03. The Hurricane
04. 2811 California Street
05. Don’t Talk
06. It’s Alright Heart
07. Take It!
08. Why Two?
09. Flight AA71

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Author: James McQuiston

Ph.D. in Political Science, Kent State University. I have been the editor at NeuFutur / since I was 15. Looking for new staff members all the time; email me if you are interested. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *