José James Releases New Single, “Trouble,” with Remix by Oh No in Anticipation of His Next Album, No Beginning, No End.

José James has released his new single, “Trouble,” from the forthcoming 2012 album No Beginning, No End. From the world of Jazz where he is surrounded by the genre’s most respected players and into the realm of R&B and soul, José provides listeners with an intimate and inspiring sound.

José explains, “‘Trouble’ is the story of a man trying to love a woman, his world and himself. My hope is that it inspires people to keep strong and enjoy the beauty of their own lives. I wrote it with Marvin ‘Trouble Man’ Gaye in mind – he’s my favorite singer and inspires a lot of my music. A lot of his songs were inspired by jazz and he sang with so much passion and truth. I wanted to sing something that showed a more playful and sensual side to my singing, something with a killer horn section and a sexy bassline. I’m blessed to have Pino Palladino lay down that groove!”

Los Angeles’ KCRW premiered the track this month after several of the station’s DJs placed his previous album, Black Magic, in their 2010 top 10 lists and Music Director Jason Bentley ranked José’s live performance on Morning Becomes Eclectic among his top 10 of the year.

“Trouble” gets a remix courtesy of underground hip-hop artist/producer Oh No. “I was also inspired by Madlib’s beats – everything fits but somehow feels off at the same time and sometimes life is like that,” says José. “His brother, Oh No, did the remix and really brought out the darkness and the beauty of the struggle to do right.”

José performs at the CMJ Future Now Showcase alongside Taylor McFerrin and The Robert Glasper Experiment in New York City before heading overseas with McCoy Tyner. Catch him in the following cities:


21- Shanghai, China- Jz Shanghai Music Festival *
23- Taichung City, Taiwan- Taichung Jazz Festival *
28- Frankfurt, Germany- Hessischer Rundfunk *
29- Hamburg, Germany- Kampnagel Hall *
31- Brussels, Belgium- Ancienne Belgique *
10- Zagreb, Croatia- ZKM *
12- London, UK- Barbican *
13- Vienna, Austria- Porgy + Bess *
14- Vienna, Austria- Porgy + Bess *
17- Guimaraes, Portugal- Auditorio da Universidade do Minho *
19- Cartagena, Spain- Teatro Circo *
20- Grenada, Spain- Teatro Isabel La Catolica *
22- Palmas, Spain- Teatro Perez Galdos *
15- Brooklyn, NY- Brooklyn Museum

* with McCoy Tyner

“Trouble” Credits:
Produced by José James
Written by José James + Scott Jacoby
Remix by Oh No

José James – vocals
Takuya Kuroda – trumpet + flugelhorn
Alistair White – trombone
Grant Windsor – Fender Rhodes + Hammond B-3 organ
Pino Palladino – bass
Richard Spaven – drums
Horn arrangement by Takuya Kuroda

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Author: James McQuiston

Ph.D. in Political Science, Kent State University. I have been the editor at NeuFutur / since I was 15. Looking for new staff members all the time; email me if you are interested. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *