The Explorers Club, a band hailing from Charleston, SC, will be releasing its sophomore set, “Grand Hotel,” in early spring 2012, with Mark Linett (who just finished the mix on Beach Boys’ “SMiLE” for Capitol Records) mixing the release. In advance of the release of “Grand Hotel,” the band has readied three EP “suites” that will each feature one cover song not on the album, bundled with two early “under-construction” (pre-Linett) mixes of tracks from the forthcoming set. The first of the three suites, “The Californian Suite,” will be available exclusively at Amazon MP3 for free on October 25, 2011. The remaining two Suites will be available in November and December, also for free exclusively at Amazon MP3. The band announced the release of the first suite here:

The “Californian Suite” will feature the Burt Bacharach standard, “Walk On By,” along with two Explorers Club originals (“Weight Of The World and “Summer Days, Summer Nights”). The “Carolinian Suite” reprises the Classics IV hit, “Stormy,” along with originals “Sweet Delights” and “It’s No Use.” The “New Yorker Suite” will feature the Explorers Club’s take on the Vanity Fare opus, “Hitchin’ A Ride,” and it will be tied to “Anticipatin’” and “Run, Run, Run,” the latter of which will later be released to radio as the lead track from “Grand Hotel.”

“Grand Hotel” is the long-anticipated follow-up to the band’s close-your-eyes-and-you’d-swear-it-was-the-Beach Boys debut, “Freedom Wind,” and was produced in Atlanta by band member Jason Brewer, along with co-producer Matt Goldman. It features fifteen tracks that once again take listeners back in time to a period when radio was laden with songs by Burt Bacharach, Herb Alpert and the Tijuana Brass, and pop mainstays like The Grass Roots.

The Explorers Club’s debut, “Freedom Wind,” was released to accolades in 2008 via Secretly Canadian’s Dead Oceans label, and tracks from the album appeared on such hit television shows as “Bored To Death” (HBO), “The O.C.” (FOX) and “How I Met Your Mother” (CBS). The press praise was extensive and glowing:

USA Today: “quite remarkable”

Time Out Chicago: “indulgent fun”

Uncut: “It’s a toss-up whether Jason Brewer’s classically crafted songs or the spot-on arrangements are more irresistible.”

The Onion AV Club: “the album is beautiful – wholly, deeply, and truly.”

UTNE Reader: “Pet Sounds just got 35 minutes longer.”

Chicago Reader: “pristinely perfect”

San Francisco Bay Guardian: “instantly hummable soda-fountain swooners”

Performer Magazine: “a wonderfully cotton-candy sweet album of indie-pop gems that bring to mind the breezy/orchestral pop of years gone by.”

The Explorers Club is: Jason Brewer (guitars, keyboards, vocals), Dave Ellis (guitars, mandolin, accordian, percussion, vocals), Wally Reddington III (bass, vocals), Justin James (guitar, steel guitar, vocals), Paul Runyon (keyboards, vocals), and Kyle Polk (drums).

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Author: James McQuiston

Ph.D. in Political Science, Kent State University. I have been the editor at NeuFutur / since I was 15. Looking for new staff members all the time; email me if you are interested. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *