ANCESTORS Unveil New Song “Whispers” via LA Weekly

Los Angeles psychedelic prog-rock band ANCESTORS will release its new album In Dreams and Time on April 10 via Tee Pee Records. Recorded in east LA’s Infrasonic Sound (Queens of the Stone Age, Best Coast, Xasthur), the record showcases the band’s most accomplished music to date and a creative sound that morphs from thunderous cacophony to soul-searching peaks and valleys as towering riffs collide with bleak beauty and deep wells of light and dark. Today, the LA Weekly premieres the new ANCESTORS song “Whispers” saying, “In Dreams and Time shows a band that is back with a vengeance and poised to re-stake their claim for the post-metal throne.” Check out the LA Weekly premiere of ANCESTORS‘ “Whispers” now at this location!

ANCESTORS will perform a special live set tonight at Los Angeles’ Vacation Vinyl, where the band is expected to debut material from In Dreams and Time for the first time. For full details on the in-store gig, visit this location.

ANCESTORS “In Dreams and Time”


     “In Dreams and Time’ feels like the culmination of everything we’ve done so far,” says ANCESTORS guitarist Justin Maranga.  “The record incorporates elements of everything that we’ve come to feel that Ancestors is, as well as new things that we’ve never tried. We’re hoping that it will tie together fans of our previous albums “Neptune With Fire”, “Of Sound Mind” and “Invisible White” who may or may not have connected one release or the other, while hopefully helping us reach a new audience.  We’re excited about it.”

     ANCESTORS formed in 2006 and instead of “choosing between prog rock or heavy rock,” merged the styles to create music rife with atmosphere, tension and raw human emotion.  On In Dreams and Time, the band fuses the primal aggression of their earlier work with the advanced dynamic sensibilities of the new, gazing into the infinite horizon to provide innovative, atmospheric thinking-man’s music.  From the moment the album’s lead track “Whispers” comes on like a collapsing star, SoCal’s reigning kings of heavy psych unleash spacious, bombastic sound that unveils layer upon layer of vintage tones, spectral atmospheres, skin-crawling ambience and swirling keyboard swell over a body of crushing, full-contact rock.  A record of limitless depth, In Dreams and Time swings from the exceedingly beautiful to the punishingly physical in seconds flat.

The track listing for ANCESTORS’ In Dreams and Time is as follows:

1.) Whispers (LA Weekly premiere)
2.) The Last Return
3.) Corryvreckan
4.) On the Wind
5.) Running in Circles
6.) First Light
ANCESTORS have also announced the addition of new drummer Daniel Pouliot (Horse the Band, ex-Bleeding Kansas) to its ranks and have been confirmed for both the 2012 Desertfest and the 2012 Roadburn Festival, where the band will share the stage with Killing Joke, Michael Gira, Chelsea Wolfe and more.  
In addition to Maranga and Pouliot, ANCESTORS features Nick Long (Bass, Vocals), Jason Watkins (Organ, Piano and Vocals) and Matt Barks (Moog & Modular Synthesizers and Vocals).

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Author: James McQuiston

Ph.D. in Political Science, Kent State University. I have been the editor at NeuFutur / since I was 15. Looking for new staff members all the time; email me if you are interested. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *