Kansas City indie rock band The Casket Lottery have announced plans to release their first new EP, The Door, in seven years on August 7 via No Sleep Records.  Additionally, frontman Nathan Ellis will also be releasing his first ever solo, self-titled EP the same day.  The EPs can be pre-ordered on 7” vinyl now at
Listen to the title track from The Door streaming here:
Listen to “Balance Beam” from Nathan Ellis’ self-titled EP on
The Casket Lottery formed in 1997 in Kansas City and consists of Ellis, who also is a current member of seminal hardcore band Coalesce, Stacy Hilt, formerly of Coalesce, and Nathan “Jr” Richardson, who previously performed with post-rock band The Appleseed Cast and is a current member of Coalesce.  The group spent the late 90’s and early 2000’s touring the U.S. with bands like Small Brown Bike, Rocky Votolato and Limbeck among others, while releasing a string of full-length albums, EPs, 7”s and splits along the way.
In 2006, The Casket Lottery took a break to concentrate on side projects.  Ellis went on to form two new bands, Jackie Carol and Able Baker Fox, while Richardson joined Appleseed Cast.  In 2010 the band reconvened, adding guitarist Brent Windler and keyboardist Nick Siegel and playing a handful of shows before recording The Door in late 2011.
A precursor to the band’s full-length, Real Fear, coming later this year, The Door features two songs, “The Door” and “My Father’s Son,” which will undoubtedly be warmly embraced by fans who’ve waited years for new material.  The Casket Lottery meld their signature distortion and melody in an intense manner that leaves listeners yearning for the classic indie post-hardcore sound of the late 90’s that shaped and inspired so many bands over the last decade.
Ellis’ strips away the distortion on his solo debut, revealing a vulnerable and raw side that runs a gamut of emotions while showcasing his incredible ability as a singer-songwriter.  Heartfelt and atmospheric, Ellis draws on his previous efforts on his self-titled EP, which features three tracks, “Balance Beam,” “Orion Too” and “The Comedians,” which was written by Elvis Costello and covered by Roy Orbison.
Stay tuned to for news about the band’s forthcoming full length album, Real Fear, which is slated for release this fall.
Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Author: James McQuiston

Ph.D. in Political Science, Kent State University. I have been the editor at NeuFutur / since I was 15. Looking for new staff members all the time; email me if you are interested. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *