After touring almost non-stop for five years, MONO hibernated for over a year to focus solely on writing Hymn To The Immortal Wind. The result is their most thoughtful and eclectic album to date. Written and arranged with a hopeful, romantic narrative in mind, the songs string together like chapters in an epic love story. The music is naturally majestic, with MONO’s trademark wall of noise crashing beautifully against the largest chamber orchestra the band has ever enlisted. The instrumentation is vast, incorporating strings, flutes, organ, piano, glockenspiel and tympani into their standard face-melting set-up.

Recorded to analog tape with long-time friend and producer Steve Albini, there is an intimacy captured here that is at once beautiful and a little terrifying. The creaking of old wooden chairs as the orchestra rocks in their seats (both literally and figuratively), puckered lips rolling along flutes, and even the conductor’s opening cue can be heard during the hauntingly quiet opening moments.

While Hymn continues to mine the cinematic drama inherent in all of MONO’s music, the dynamic shifts now come more from dark-to-light instead of quiet-to-loud. The maturity to balance these elements so masterfully has become MONO’s strongest virtue.

To celebrate, they are bringing their infamous, face-melting live show to the esteemed Lincoln Center in New York City for one night only, backed by the Wordless Music Orchestra, conducted by Jeff Milarsky. This is the first time in MONO’s career they have performed with additional instrumentation, and no better time than now, coinciding with the forthcoming release of Hymn To The Immortal Wind. Presented by the renowned Wordless Music Series, this rare and special performance will be the only North American concert in support of their new album.

5/8 New York City, NY The Society For Ethical Culture


Hymn To The Immortal Wind

CD / 2xLP

1. Ashes In The Snow (11:46)

2. Burial At Sea (10:39)

3. Silent Flight, Sleeping Dawn (6:00)

4. Pure As Snow (11:26)

5. Follow The Map (3:56)

6. The Battle Of Heaven (12:51)

7. Everlasting Light (10:23)

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *