Posted on: March 6, 2017 Posted by: John B. Moore Comments: 0
R. Stevie Moore & Jason Falkner – Make It Be

“Make It Be” is a Lo-Fi/Power Pop dream team mash up. The album pairs lo-fi legend R. Stevie Moore, who has played on hundreds of albums going back to 1969, with Jason Falkner, who aside from his solo work is best known for the brilliant and short-lived early ‘90s Power Pop band Jellyfish.

The bulk of the songs here were written by Moore, with one by Falkner and one co-written by the pair. They even pull out a great cover of Huey Smith & the Clown’s “Don’t You Know It.” For those expecting more Jellyfish-esque pop music, “Make It Be” is going to be a shock to the system, but with an open mind you’ll realize just how beautiful and beautifully weird this collaboration is. Falkner still brings his jangly guitar to plenty of the songs here, but Moore’s influence is hard to ignore, in all its experimental glory. Despite cramming the record with 18 tracks, you can’t help but want to hear more as soon as the album ends going out on Moore’s odd, but just fascinating A Capella riffing on “Falkner Walk.”
R. Stevie Moore & Jason Falkner – Make It Be/18 tracks/Bar None Records & Lost Colony Music / /

Leave a Comment