Posted on: March 9, 2009 Posted by: anfnewsacct Comments: 0

Wolf Spider is one of the most acclaimed thrash metal bands in the entire history of the Polish scene. Throughout the years their breathtaking releases became legendary, and their status as Polish thrash metal heroes still remains unbroken. “Drifting in the Sullen Sea”, their third offering, once and for all provide their worth. This exclusive reissue will bring you back to the glorious days of pure thrash metal madness. The record continues to exercise Wolf Spider’s technical style. It ‘s a must-have for all thrash metal maniacs, expecting nothing more than prime thrash annihilation! If their debut album “Kingdom Of Paranoia” hit the mark for you then “Drifting In The Sullen Sea” is almost a required pick with more of the same. The album includes Freddy Mercury’s track (Mustapha) in a new arrangement.

Metal Mind Productions will re-release “Drifting in the Sullen Sea” on the 2nd March in Europe and 10th March in USA (via MVD). New digipak edition includes 4 bonus tracks and is limited to 1000 copies. Digitally remastered using 24-Bit process on a golden disc.

Wolf Spider
“Drifting In The Sullen Sea” (remastered + bonus tracks)

Label: Metal Mind Records
Cat. No.: MMP CD 0660 DG
Barcode: 5907785034396
Format: CD Digipak (limited edition of 1000 numbered copies)
Genre: thrash metal
Release date: 10.03.2009 USA


1. Blind Faith
2. Liberated Woman
3. Inclined
4. My Home
5. Drifting In The Sullen Sea
6. King Of Animals
7. Freedom
8. Black’n’White part II
9. Enterprising Man
10. Orphanage
11. Mustapha

Bonus track:

12. Terroryści
13. Plaga
14. Gdzie Twoja Osobowość
15. Próg Świadomości

The band was formed in 1985 in Poznań, as Wilczy Pająk (the English translation of this name – Wolf Spider – was used much later). At the beginning of their career, Wilczy Pająk consisted of Leszek Szpigiel (vocals), Maciej Matuszak (guitar), Marian Przybylski (bass), Piotr Mańkowski (guitar) and Tomasz Goehs (drums). In August the group debuted on the small stage at the Jarocin festival and took part in the acclaimed local event called Rock Nad Bagnem. In December Wilczy Pająk won their first local battle of the bands. Then they appeared on the 1st edition of the famous Metalmania festival in early 1986, next to such bands as Turbo, Killer and Jaguar. The new year brought over 20 gigs all across Poland, eventually taking the band back to Spodek for another performance at the Metalmania festival in 1987. The show was recorded and released as a split with another Polish legend – Dragon. 1987 also brought the long awaited debut album by Wilczy Pająk. The self-titled LP proved to be a true metal feast – the music was very aggressive and well-arranged, instantly gaining much praise on the Polish metal scene. The album was released for the elite Klub Płytowy Razem series, which featured only the best Polish artists. This success was followed by another brilliant performance at the Jarocin festival (where Wilczy Pająk took 3rd place in the band competition) and a series of gigs in Russia. The group continued to perform at several prestigious shows, such as the Metal Battle and Heavy Metal Show. After Metalmania ’88 they changed their name to Wolf Spider and went on a tour across Hungary with Rage and Running Wild. Sometime later Przybylski decided to leave the group, giving the bass duties to Matuszek. Then Wolf Spider welcomed a new guitarist – Dariusz “Popcorn” Popowicz. All seemed fine until vocalist Leszek Szpigiel announced his departure to Germany (performing with the band for the last time during the Metal Battle’89). Due to this fact Wolf Spider had to cancel their performance at Metalmania’89. However, the band soon managed to find a roper replacement and with Jacek Piotrowski on board, they begun working on their second album, meant to be released in Western Europe. “Kingdom of Paranoia” saw the light of day in 1990, with the help of Under One Flag Records. Recorded in the famous Giełda Studio in Poznań, the album showed extreme musical progress, revealing the band’s fascination with technical thrash metal. No wonder that Chris Weich, chief editor of the British edition of Metal Hammer, included “Kingdom of Paranoia” in his top 5 albums for November 1990. The band returned in 1991 with two more albums – “Drifting in the Sullen Sea” and “Hue of Evil”, both following the same musical path as the previous offerings. Unfortunately, the lack of commercial success forced the group to dissolve. They played their last memorable show in 1991, supporting none other than Deep Purple. Although Wolf Spider disbanded, their legend still lives on in hearts of metal fans all across the globe.

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email
Visit Us
Follow Me

Leave a Comment